Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Reloading windows on a laptop with Linux - problems


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 Jeff_Standley

Jeff_Standley

    Supporting Actor

  • 905 posts
  • Join Date: May 17 2002

Posted September 15 2005 - 11:45 AM

I am trying to load windows back on to a laptop and can not get it to run. I put the disc in and it will boot from disc. It says booting and then it just stays in that screen.
How do I get windows back on it?
I am running Fedora right now.
"Do you think the average stormtrooper knows how to install a toilet main"?

#2 of 9 Mike Selis

Mike Selis

    Extra

  • 20 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 27 2005

Posted September 15 2005 - 02:47 PM

In order to provide advice, can you please provide Brand name and model number, the OS you are planning to restore, if you are using restore discs from the manufacturer, and any other details that reflect a change from the original configuration?

#3 of 9 Tekara

Tekara

    Supporting Actor

  • 783 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 08 2003

Posted September 15 2005 - 05:40 PM

sounds like a bad disk, the windows disk should be able to load no matter what's installed on the hard drive.

Now to install windows though, you'll have to set up some partition that you can format into ntfs for windows to go onto. The disk manager that you can use in the windows install I think makes you redo the entire hard drive.
"Computers are a lot like air conditioners - they both work great until you open windows." -Anonymous
"The danger from computers is not that they will eventually get as smart as men, but that we will agree to meet them halfway." -Bernard Avishai

#4 of 9 Jeff_Standley

Jeff_Standley

    Supporting Actor

  • 905 posts
  • Join Date: May 17 2002

Posted September 16 2005 - 05:14 AM

I have two different wondows XP discs and I believe they work fine. I am running an old HP laptop with a AMD duron chip. I will post the model number when I get home.
"Do you think the average stormtrooper knows how to install a toilet main"?

#5 of 9 Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter

  • 2,128 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted September 16 2005 - 09:18 AM

I'm pretty sure your boot record got hosed up. (I remember similar systems from experiments I did years ago.) When you installed Linux you chose to update the "main" boot record instead of one on a separate drive partition. I think you'll have to re-format the drive.

Please, don't take my word for it, it's been awhile - but you might want to seach the Linux forms for boot record.

#6 of 9 Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt

    Producer

  • 3,813 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 1998

Posted September 22 2005 - 03:35 AM

It shouldn't matter what's on the hard drive though as its booting from the CD. During the install you'll have the oppertunity to wipe the harddrive and reformat it as you please. Do you have a floppy drive on the laptop? If so try booting from an old win95/98 boot or install floppy disc.

#7 of 9 Jeff_Standley

Jeff_Standley

    Supporting Actor

  • 905 posts
  • Join Date: May 17 2002

Posted September 22 2005 - 01:06 PM

I'll try that, thanks.
"Do you think the average stormtrooper knows how to install a toilet main"?

#8 of 9 Kimmo Jaskari

Kimmo Jaskari

    Screenwriter

  • 1,529 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2000

Posted September 23 2005 - 12:07 AM

If you need to rewrite the master boot record, it can be done fairly easily with a DOS/Win 9x bootdisk - you can get one of those from bootdisk.com if you don't have one. You do need a floppy drive in the computer though.

Just boot to DOS and run the Fdisk program to rewrite the MBR by typing: fdisk /mbr

There are other ways but that one is free, easy and fairly quick.
"If we do happen to step on a mine, Sir, what do we do?"
"Normal procedure, Lieutenant, is to jump 200 feet in the air and scatter oneself over a wide area." -- "BlackAdder 4"

#9 of 9 Mike_J_Potter

Mike_J_Potter

    Second Unit

  • 262 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 2003

Posted September 23 2005 - 08:06 AM

Quote:
If you need to rewrite the master boot record, it can be done fairly easily with a DOS/Win 9x bootdisk - you can get one of those from bootdisk.com if you don't have one. You do need a floppy drive in the computer though.


Or if you don't have a floppy boot off of your windows xp cd and goto into recovery console and type in fixmbr. Worked for me when removing Linux from a dual boot config. Make sure any data you want to keep is deleted then use the recovery console to delete all partitions off the drive. Use the diskpart command. All the info you need is in this link. This may be the only way to get the linux partitions off, I have had issues before with this.

http://support.micro....b;EN-US;314058
Mike Potter

Last 3 films watched
Natural Born Killers (DVD)
Duece Bigalow 2 (theater)Forrest Gump (1080I)