-

Photo
- - - - -

Veneer questions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 OFFLINE   al lout

al lout

Stunt Coordinator

• 164 posts

Posted September 12 2005 - 02:45 PM

Sup all, I'm in a process of putting together my main speaker cabinets. The question is if I round up the edges of the two sides, how hard is it to wrap the veneer over the rounded corner? I would like to round off the edges but I'm afraid it might be difficult to wrap the veneer around it. This will be the first time that I'll attempt to veneer my cabinet. I have no experience what so ever. I'm thinking of getting some rosewood veneer. Can someone direct me to where can I get it for cheap. I'm probably going to need 4' x 8' sheet. I would like to shop at the local area, but if online is much cheaper I will order it online. Anyone knows where in the Los Angeles/Alhambra area that I can go take a look? Thanks all.

#2 of 10 OFFLINE   Brian Fellmeth

Brian Fellmeth

Supporting Actor

• 792 posts

Posted September 12 2005 - 06:12 PM

Quote:
if I round up the edges of the two sides, how hard is it to wrap the veneer over the rounded corner?

Depends on the veneer and the radius of the curve. Backed veneer where the wood layer is a very thin film takes curves well. Thick raw veneer is tougher. Raw burles are impossible. 3/4 inch radius curves are much easier than 1/2 inch.

Quote:
I'm thinking of getting some rosewood veneer. Can someone direct me to where can I get it for cheap. I'm probably going to need 4' x 8' sheet.

I don't think you are going to find nice rosewood in 4x8 sheets. In fact, the 4x8 sheets are mostly ordinary stuff- maple, cherry oak etc. The best place to purchase interesting veneer by far is Ebay in my experience.

#3 of 10 OFFLINE   JustinSC

JustinSC

Extra

• 17 posts

Posted September 13 2005 - 02:17 AM