Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Can I add a subwoofer to a 5 channel system?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   Steven Hahn

Steven Hahn

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 2005

Posted August 17 2005 - 03:37 AM

I have an early generation home theater receiver which has only 5 speaker outputs (Front L&R, Rear L&R, Center). The receiver has no connection for a subwoofer.

Is there an effective way that I can wire the system to add a subwoofer. I would like to get a lot more ooomph to the sound system.

Any help would be great. Thanks.

- Steven

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,527 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2004

Posted August 17 2005 - 03:44 AM

Welcome to the forum, Bro!

I believe you can do it and I'll let someone else answer how, which I think depends on whether you are using a powered or unpowered sub. The question is why? My guess is your receiver probably doesn't have a whole lot of the modern bells and whistles or power either. Why not just replace it with a $100 used or refurbished 5.1 receiver? Does your receiver even have a digital input and can it decode Dolby Digital 5.1 or DTS? You will be losing a lot of the experience by not having the separate .1 LFE channel. If you are going to spend even $100 on a sub, you might as well spend the money to get an updated receiver. Now that 6.1 is the minimum and 7.1 receivers are almost standard, you can find a used 5.1 on the cheap that will solve your problem and give you the punch you want.

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Steven Hahn

Steven Hahn

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 2005

Posted August 17 2005 - 03:58 AM

Thanks Charlie,

I wanted to try and minimize cost. I will keep your advice in mind and search the web for deals, while I wait for instructions on how to make that connection to my current receiver.

Thanks again and appreciate your welcome.

- Steven

#4 of 11 OFFLINE   John S

John S

    Producer



  • 5,460 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2003

Posted August 17 2005 - 03:59 AM

You just need to use the speaker level inputs to a subwoofer using your front L/R.....

You should consider changing your AVR for sure though.

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   Steven Hahn

Steven Hahn

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 2005

Posted August 17 2005 - 04:06 AM

Thanks John,

I will definitely consider the receiver but meanwhile ...

Just to be clear, ... Do you mean that I would connect two wires each to both the subwoofer and (let's say, for example) the Front-Left speaker from the same speaker output? (Of course, I would do same for Front-Right, resulting in four wires into the subwoofer.

Is it really that simple?

- Steven

#6 of 11 OFFLINE   Chris A H

Chris A H

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 172 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2002

Posted August 17 2005 - 06:20 AM

Yes, it is that simple. There is a good article on the Polk website about connecting a subwoofer.

#7 of 11 OFFLINE   Steven Hahn

Steven Hahn

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 2005

Posted August 17 2005 - 09:19 AM

Thanks a million Chris!

Your artice link was a great education and somewhat of a relief.

I will try that suggestion before purchasing a new receiver.

For others who have the same question but may not have the time to browse the article. the meat of the article is quoted below.

Thanks everyone!

"For the most people, the easiest and best sounding thing to do is connect the subwoofer to the Front Left and Right speaker outputs. You can either connect your front main speakers to the subwoofer's speaker output terminals or you can "parallel wire" them to the same terminals."

#8 of 11 OFFLINE   John S

John S

    Producer



  • 5,460 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2003

Posted August 17 2005 - 09:29 AM

You got it.......

Best of luck with your subwoofering...

#9 of 11 OFFLINE   ScottCHI

ScottCHI

    Screenwriter



  • 1,292 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 21 2004

Posted August 17 2005 - 10:27 AM

FYI, since you probably decode a stereo signal into DPLII (or whatever), you're not "missing" the LFE info; it's in there. Whether your front speakers can reproduce it well is another question altogether, which is, of course, I presume, why you want to add a sub.

Additionally, when connecting a sub to the speaker level outputs, you have the choice of "crossing-over" your front speakers with the sub's high-pass filter, by connecting them to the sub's speaker outputs (provided it has them) or not; it's up to you.
"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   Marc LaPalme

Marc LaPalme

    Agent



  • 25 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2005

Posted August 18 2005 - 01:04 AM

i know you said your amp doesn't have a connection for a subwoofer but...

you might have a pre-out that you could connect a sub to it.

#11 of 11 OFFLINE   FeisalK

FeisalK

    Screenwriter



  • 1,245 posts
  • Join Date: May 01 2003

Posted August 18 2005 - 04:42 AM

Posted Image
>
DVD-A registry for hirez/surround audio
Bluray, DVD-Audio, DAD/HDAD, DualDisc, MVI