Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

HTF REVIEW: Harmony 880 Remote

Hardware Review

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
109 replies to this topic

#101 of 110 OFFLINE   Adam Sanchez

Adam Sanchez

    Supporting Actor



  • 901 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 1999

Posted May 27 2006 - 01:57 PM

Found this thread again so I could post this.

How can I go about replacing my Cradle? I think I need to, I have to fool with it WAY too much to get it to charge. I still love this remote though. i recall a few people said they replaced thiers but I forget how. How can I contact Logitech... maybe thru email?

What kind of fee charge can I expect to do this?

Thanks!

Edit: Oh and one more thing, when you make a configuation is it saved on the website or locally on your computer? I recently got a new computer and today I hooked up my Harmony to it and the website was trying to get me to configure my remote like it was new. How can I get the website to know my remote already has my devices all set up already?

#102 of 110 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer



  • 16,240 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted June 29 2006 - 03:24 PM

just got my 880 a few days ago from the sale posted in bargains last month.
less the $110.00

the more i foll around with it the more i like it.
took me a few days but i figured out how to assign activities for watching the tv and the hd dvd.

its a good start.
now my wife can actually just hit one or 2 buttons to get tv or dvd.
facebook.com/whotony

#103 of 110 OFFLINE   Rick Westfall

Rick Westfall

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 220 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 1998

Posted July 01 2006 - 10:05 AM

Sorry if this has been answered, but I'm in the process of setting up my HT room and am wondering if the harmony remote also controls lighting? I would love to press one button and everything turns on while the lights dim.

Thanks
Rick

#104 of 110 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,571 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted July 14 2006 - 10:06 AM

Adam,

Sorry it took so long to get back to you on this. My interests
as of late have been drawn to other areas of the forum.

If you have not done so already, contact Logitech Customer
Support. I wrote them an email from an address I found on
their site.

They sent me a new cradle at absolutely NO CHARGE and the
remote now fits nice and snug inside. No more charge problems.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#105 of 110 OFFLINE   Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi

    Screenwriter



  • 1,527 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2004

Posted July 14 2006 - 02:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Westfall
Sorry if this has been answered, but I'm in the process of setting up my HT room and am wondering if the harmony remote also controls lighting? I would love to press one button and everything turns on while the lights dim.

Thanks
Rick

It will as long as you use infrared dimmers like the Lutron Spacer or Maestro.

#106 of 110 OFFLINE   Steve_Pannell

Steve_Pannell

    Supporting Actor



  • 595 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2003
  • Real Name:Steve
  • LocationNew Albany, MS

Posted September 11 2007 - 02:25 AM

Thought I'd shake the dust off this old thread to ask a few questions:

I'm thinking about getting either the 880 or 890 remote but there are a couple things I'd like to know first.

I realize these remotes are "activity-based" but can it do something simple like turn on the TV? I know you'd set up a button that says "watch TV" but I asked this question to lead up to my second question:

If I'm just watching TV (nothing on but the TV) and I want to watch a DVD, when I select "watch DVD" on the remote will the TV go off?

I know this is an elementary question but I had to start somewhere.

Thanks.

#107 of 110 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

    Lead Actor



  • 6,530 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 19 2002

Posted September 11 2007 - 03:59 AM

Each "activity" can be set up with as many or as few devices as needed or desired. So if "Watch TV" only requires you to turn on the TV, that's what it'll do.

After selecting an activity, the remote remembers the present status of each device, so when you change to another activity, it only performs the required steps to set up that activity. So if you were in "Watch TV" activity and switched to "Watch DVD", it would remember the TV is already on and just turn on the DVD and perform any input switching required.

Please note this action is all seamless to the user. You don't have to worry about it, the remote does everything by itself. If it ever screws up (usually due to blocking the IR emitter), there is a step by step help screen to get you back to the proper status. Also, for each activity, there are "Device" modes that let you utilize the rarer functions on your specific devices. The good thing is you really don't have to program everything step by step. You just answer a few questions about each activity and the remote programs itself. If you wish to customize, the button assignments for both activities and devices are infinitely customizable.

My suggestion is to sign up for a demo at the Harmony site. It will walk you through an initial setup using your A/V components. Setup is kind of hard to describe, but it is easy to understand once you experience it.

#108 of 110 OFFLINE   Steve_Pannell

Steve_Pannell

    Supporting Actor



  • 595 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2003
  • Real Name:Steve
  • LocationNew Albany, MS

Posted September 11 2007 - 04:14 AM

Thanks for the reply. That tells me exactly what I want to know.

Lesser remotes that I have used before had programmable macros but they were pretty rudimentary.

Now I've got to get me one! Posted Image

#109 of 110 OFFLINE   Steve_Pannell

Steve_Pannell

    Supporting Actor



  • 595 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2003
  • Real Name:Steve
  • LocationNew Albany, MS

Posted September 18 2007 - 02:47 PM

I got my 880 yesterday and have set everything up. So far, I'm very impressed. Wish I'd bought one a long time ago.

Everything is working the way it's supposed to. I had to do a little tweaking to get everything just right but it was no big deal. I've still got to program several buttons for each specific component when I figure out which functions I need and which button I want to assign them to.

Looks like I'm going to enjoy this remote a lot.

#110 of 110 OFFLINE   Kate Logitech

Kate Logitech

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2008

Posted December 03 2008 - 11:44 AM

Logitech Harmony recently made changes to our customer service policy and we wanted to make sure that you have the most up-to-date information for your readers. You may want to update your Web site to reflect these changes.

Historically we have encouraged our customers to contact us by telephone when they have questions. As more and more people choose Logitech Harmony, however, we have developed more efficient ways to support our valued customers.

Beginning December 1, new Harmony customers have free, unlimited access to phone support for the first 60 days after they’ve created an account to set up their Harmony remote. (With the purchase of each additional remote, Harmony customers will have 60 days of additional phone support from the date of purchase.)

Those who’ve had an account for their Harmony remote longer than 60 days will continue to have access to online help, the forums and responses through e-mail submission in the Harmony software, but not phone support.

To save time and provide clear answers to a whole range of questions, we’ve created an active community forum, bringing together Logitech employees and Harmony users to answer questions publicly so that everyone can benefit from the answers. The forums have already resolved hundreds of troubleshooting questions.

We’ve also continued to build our online help, with user manuals and FAQs that allow people to find the answers to their how-to questions with a quick search – without having to wait on hold. And they’re all easily accessible through Harmony software.

If you have questions about our customer service policy, join the discussion on our online community forum through your Harmony software or at http://www.logitech.com/support.