Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Apple Keyboards with PC system.


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 OFFLINE   Richard Travale

Richard Travale

    Producer



  • 3,426 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2001
  • Real Name:Rich Travale
  • LocationThe Island, Canada

Posted April 09 2005 - 06:22 AM

I was recently at a friend's house and I was using his mac. I thought that the keyboard was great. The two USB 1.1 ports on the sides was brilliant in my opinion. I was wondering if anyone knew of a PC keyboard that was similar or if the Apple keyboard would be compatable with my PC. I'm guessing that it won't be but I figured I would ask anyway.
 "Cock your hat - angles are attitudes. "
- Frank Sinatra 

#2 of 13 OFFLINE   SteveLa

SteveLa

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 30 2004

Posted April 09 2005 - 06:35 AM

As long as you're running Win98 or higher it should work just fine.

#3 of 13 OFFLINE   Richard Travale

Richard Travale

    Producer



  • 3,426 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2001
  • Real Name:Rich Travale
  • LocationThe Island, Canada

Posted April 09 2005 - 11:56 AM

Seriously? I was convinced that there would be some serious compatibility issues here. I think I'll be heading out and buying one next paycheck.

 "Cock your hat - angles are attitudes. "
- Frank Sinatra 

#4 of 13 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted April 09 2005 - 12:03 PM

There are also other keyboards with inbuilt USB hubs. Example include those from Belkin (like: http://catalog.belki....duct_Id=123503)

IBM's RapidAccess III Keyboard

Ortek Slim: http://www.newegg.co....134-024&depa=0

ViewSonic EHub Keyboard series

Posted Image
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#5 of 13 OFFLINE   ThomasC

ThomasC

    Lead Actor



  • 6,526 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 2001

Posted April 09 2005 - 01:09 PM

According to Apple's website, they'll only work with the Mac OS. But, I work at a computer lab with iMac G5s and IBMs, hooked up a Mac keyboard to an IBM, and just had to wait for the IBM to recognize the keyboard (it did take a couple minutes), and I was up and running. There are some keys that are missing such as "Print Screen", but it shouldn't be too big of a deal. I was surprised to see that the volume controls on the keyboard work! Man, now I might get one for my computer. Posted Image

Yeah, but they don't look nearly as cool as the Apple keyboard. Posted Image

#6 of 13 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted April 10 2005 - 09:21 AM

Yep, tested it as well. Works. The missing "Windows" key, function keys etc., however, sucks for those of us who touch type.
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#7 of 13 OFFLINE   Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens

    Supporting Actor



  • 714 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 2000
  • Real Name:Christian Behrens
  • LocationSF Bay Area

Posted April 10 2005 - 11:11 AM

You can probably program the most used functionality (based on the missing keys) and create shortcuts for them using Autohotkey and work around it when using an Apple keyboard.

-Christian
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." (Benjamin Franklin)

#8 of 13 OFFLINE   Seth--L

Seth--L

    Screenwriter



  • 1,344 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 22 2003

Posted April 10 2005 - 11:27 AM

People actual use that? Navigating the start bar is so clunky using the keyboard that it's just easier to switch to the mouse.
Well - There it is.
My Music Collection

#9 of 13 OFFLINE   Richard Travale

Richard Travale

    Producer



  • 3,426 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2001
  • Real Name:Rich Travale
  • LocationThe Island, Canada

Posted April 10 2005 - 11:47 AM

yeah, I pretty much never use the windows key anyway, so I think I'm good on that note. I really appreciate all the research and input you guys have given. Cheers.
 "Cock your hat - angles are attitudes. "
- Frank Sinatra 

#10 of 13 OFFLINE   ThomasC

ThomasC

    Lead Actor



  • 6,526 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 2001

Posted April 10 2005 - 12:53 PM

The Windows key is the Apple key.

#11 of 13 OFFLINE   Kyle McKnight

Kyle McKnight

    Screenwriter



  • 2,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 08 2001

Posted April 10 2005 - 03:45 PM

Yep, but it does really suck not having a print screen key...
Kyle McKnight

#12 of 13 OFFLINE   ThomasC

ThomasC

    Lead Actor



  • 6,526 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 2001

Posted April 10 2005 - 04:09 PM

The Apple keyboard has 4 extra function keys that you can program with a driver or registry hack to act as a "Print Screen" key and whatnot.

http://www.trinitywo....KPro/index.php
http://www.randyrants.com/sharpkeys/

#13 of 13 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted April 10 2005 - 04:39 PM

*laugh* I almost never use a mouse; rarely have time to get away from the keyboard. It took me a while to setup keystrokes to quickly navigate websites, but I tend to prefer it that way.. so much faster, cleaner, easier then picking up and switching over to the mouse, which I think breaks the rythm of typing.. but maybe it's just me..
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users