What's new

SVS 25-31CS vs PB10-ISD (1 Viewer)

ChrisRuh

Stunt Coordinator
Alright, this may be a dumb question, or beating a dead horse, but I'm a noob and looking to upgrade my sub. Right now I'm looking to buy a SVS, and have a question. Which of these two subs would be the better buy?

I know the CS ($379) is a passive sub, but I would plan on running it with an old amp until I could purchase something better in the future. The PB-10 ($429) obviously gets rave reviews, but would be a bit more expensive (especially after factoring in shipping between the two models). I'm partial to the cylinder subs, but haven't found many reviews on the SVS passive subs.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
CR

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
The CS is a higher performer.

The passive subs perform the same as the powered versions if you feed them with an adequate amp.

steve nn

Senior HTF Member
I would suggest you fire one off to Tom or Ron [email protected] and see what he has to say about the amp your planning on using. It doesn't take a whole lot to get the CS up and going to where your experiencing some pretty impressive performance.

Both units are a good choice, but you being partial to the cylinder and saving some $$, would be good reason to investigate your power supply first before deciding.

MikeNg

Second Unit
My first SVS was a cylinder, as I was able to use an amp on hand to drive it. It worked out fine for a while, but I knew I would want to get another amp. Since you are planning to get another amp for the cylinder in the future, you do need to compare the TOTAL cost of owning the cylinder vs. the box, not the immediate cost.

CYLINDER+NEW AMP=BOX?

Also, some like a more trim look to their component rack, so not having another amp sitting there is a plus. Yet others like the 'separates' look. Decide which camp you fall under.