Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

reseting the service menu


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Antonio_B

Antonio_B

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 187 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 17 2002

Posted March 02 2005 - 05:46 AM

i was tweaking a few days ago with the convergence in the service menu,and since that time my colors look washed out and the picture is kinda grainy.

What do you suggest me?Anyway to reset the service menu to the default settings?

#2 of 6 Michael TLV

Michael TLV

    Screenwriter

  • 2,909 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 16 2000
  • Real Name:Michael Chen
  • LocationCalgary, Alberta

Posted March 02 2005 - 07:23 AM

greetings

service menusngenerally do not have a useful reset ... since all start with different settings.

a reset will give you something different from what you started with before your mucking.

regards
Michael @ The Laser Video Experience
THX Video Systems Instructor/ISF Instructor
Lion A/V Consultants Network - TLVEXP.com


#3 of 6 allan espinoza

allan espinoza

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 210 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2002

Posted March 02 2005 - 08:24 AM

so there is or there isnt?

#4 of 6 Antonio_B

Antonio_B

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 187 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 17 2002

Posted March 02 2005 - 08:24 AM

Michael,

Are the effects i had normal?

The colors don't look as powerful and vibrant as before.
Second,the overall picture now looks grainy.

I remember playing with the green color and i heard it modifies the geometry.My set is kinda messed up now...

Color Bleeding,washout colors,dark picture and graininess.

#5 of 6 John S

John S

    Producer

  • 5,460 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2003

Posted March 02 2005 - 08:51 AM

Hmm, well this is the reason they tell you to write down every single setting in there before you do anything.

Quite teadious on many sets that have hundreds of things you can adjust in there. But worth the time, I have been saved by this quite a few times now, playing with other peoples display service menu settings.

The person needing help has to more or less beg me to do it. I actually do not like playing around in there at all, with no formal calibration training or experience.

#6 of 6 Dave H

Dave H

    Producer

  • 5,217 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 13 2000

Posted March 02 2005 - 12:39 PM

Also,

If you're ever going into the service menu, buy the service manual for your set. It has a listing of standard values for various parameters, etc.