What's new

Does the screen material matter? (1 Viewer)

Richard McNally

Auditioning
There are all kinds of screens, regular matte, glass beaded, high contrast matte, etc. If I have a good quality projector, how much of a difference would a $2,000 screen make versus a $200 screen?

Mitch Stevens

Supporting Actor
I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, but some screens can make a projector look better or worse, especially at certain sizes.

I read that screens of large sizes (over 100 inches) depending on the screen material used, you can get some nasty hot-spotting where one are of the picture is brighter or more colorful than the rest of the picture, which can be very distracting. For this, experts recommend something with a 1.0 gain instead of having a high gain like 3.0 or more. A lot of people like high gain screens, because it makes the image that much brighter and more colorful (like a real TV) but high gain screens are only recommended, in small sizes (anything under 90 inches).

Also, with glass beaded screens, I read that even though it makes the picture look very incredible, it also reveals the screen door effect that much more, which is never a good thing. Of course, if projectors out there came with higher resolutions (like 1080p) then we would never have to worry about SDE, but since they don't, then SDE can be a huge problem for people with great eye-sight, and/or people who sit too close to the screen.

I have a 127" screen, which I sit 18 feet away from, a projector that does 720p, and I can clearly see the screen door effect at all times. Other members of my family (with less than perfect eyesight) don't see it at all though, not even when they are 2 feet away from the screen. It all depends on how sensitive the individual is, to certain problems that projectors have, like SDE, or DLP rainbows, etc.