-

Jump to content



Photo

TiVo - Frozen Recording!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 975 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted February 20 2001 - 03:34 AM

I just got my TiVo as a Valentine's Day gift, and like probably everyone here, fell in love with it.

My only issue so far - it recorded an episode of "In the Actor's Studio" as a suggestion. While watching it, about 12 minutes in, the recording froze. The only way to get around it was to fast forward through the moment.

This error is repeatable, in exactly the same place.

My question is this - is this just an occasional glitch, or could it be indicative of a bad spot on the hard drive? I'd like feedback on this while my TiVo is still new and under warranty.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give!

Bleddyn

------------------


#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Joel Mack

Joel Mack

    Screenwriter

  • 2,321 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 1999

Posted February 20 2001 - 04:37 AM

Any possibility it was the source that froze? (i.e. the actual program froze up for awhile)

Otherwise, I dunno...

------------------
"Ahhh...the Luftwaffe... The Washington Generals of the History Channel..."

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Jodee

Jodee

    Screenwriter

  • 1,044 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 13 1999

Posted February 20 2001 - 05:18 AM

Sometimes my cable box glitches-- when it pixelates and loses signal for a while. Usually my Replay doesn't record this, so occasionally during playback I will see the scene "jump" over the bad spot.

I have never seen it freeze, though. Once when I was playing around with something while it was recording, I accidentally turned off the cable box and Replay recorded about 10 seconds of black space.

------------------
Jodee/Andy


#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 975 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted February 20 2001 - 06:17 AM

Hi guys.

I believe the flaw to be the recording, not the source - the TiVo freezes and will not play forward without coaxing past the spot. If it were a poor source, it would play on, no?


Bleddyn

------------------


#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 975 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted February 21 2001 - 04:26 AM

Hello? Anyone?

------------------


#6 of 8 OFFLINE   JasenP

JasenP

    Screenwriter

  • 1,286 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 21 1999

Posted February 21 2001 - 04:12 PM

If this continues to be an issue I would:

1: Reset the unit (power down, power up)

2: Check out a Tivo forum for some help Tivo FAQ or Official Tivo Forum

3: Contact Sony/Phillips and see if they can resolve the issue.

Good Luck!!!

------------------
Wanna buy a monkey?®


290+ Reasons why I drive A 1991 Cavalier.


You know, Fred, if you keep your sense of humor like you do, you just might make it.

The Archive

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 975 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted February 22 2001 - 07:48 AM

Thanks, Jasen-

I have in fact already tried two of your ideas.

1- I called TiVo Customer Support. Was told that even a freeze in a recording doesn't necessarily mean a hard drive problem. TiVo's are computer-like devices and they will glitch occasionally. He said to call back if the problem was recurring.

2- Joined the TiVo Forum. There was a bit of scepticism about whether this was a blow-off answer, but a couple of people chipped in with to support the theory that it wasn't worth worrying about unless it recurs.

Hopefully this info will be helpful to others.

Bleddyn

------------------


#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Chris S

Chris S

    Screenwriter

  • 2,522 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2000
  • Real Name:Chris S

Posted February 22 2001 - 03:42 PM

I had the same sort of problem once, but I happened to catch it in when it froze. I left the Tivo alone for about 10 minutes and nothing changed. I tried to access the menus and stuff but eventually just wound up unplugging it. I thought I might have had a bad sector on my disk so I erased all the programming I had and set it to record for 14 hours (to fill up the drive), but it didn't show any signs of a problem and it hasn't happened to me since so my guess is there is probably some very small glitch in the systems OS. I'm really surprised there aren't more problems with the system as complicated as it is. Thanks, Chris

------------------
Home Theater: IG-88.net
HDtv Consumer Protection Organization: www.hdcp.org
Posted Image


DVD & Blu-ray - It's all about the movies!