Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Windows Media Center 2005 Software


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
69 replies to this topic

#1 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 05 2005 - 05:01 AM

Figured I start a new topic on this. Anyone have it and what are your thoughts?

#2 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 06 2005 - 07:02 AM

Can't believe no one is using this software and has an opinion on it.

#3 of 70 OFFLINE   Harris_C

Harris_C

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 72 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 2003

Posted February 06 2005 - 04:45 PM

Steve,

I am building and AMD64 HTPC in the next day or 2 and will be installing MCE 2005.

Of course, after that I will be better informed and hopefully will have great things to say about it.
Harris Coltrain
www.2partsfusion.com

#4 of 70 OFFLINE   JonE

JonE

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 07 2005

Posted February 07 2005 - 10:12 AM

Hi all

I have built and AMD64 HTPC with a AIW 9600 video card and a hauppauge 150mce tv card and a Fusion3 gold HD card. I'm still working out the bugs so to speak so if any of you have questions please feel free to ask. I'm trying to figuer out how to use the HD card with MCE2005.

Having fun!

#5 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 07 2005 - 12:15 PM

JonE, do you know if you can rip movies with say dvdshrink (My home movies of course) to you hard drive and then view via an Media Center extender? I have seen mixed statements on whether this is possible or not.

I think WMCE 2005 is very nice and has some very cool features.

#6 of 70 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted February 07 2005 - 02:25 PM

Have it. Love it.

I'm using this configuration (which I've posted in many places)

AMD 3000+ CPU
1GB RAM
160G SATA
eVGA Dual Tuner PCI Capture Card
ATI HDTV Wonder Capture Card
Nvidia 6600GT AGP (for Pureview)
External 56k Modem (Caller ID)
Silverstone Lascala

(I'll post some links to pictures if anyone wants)

I go out to my Sony HDTV normally @ 720P or 1080i via DVI. I use NVDVD for the DVD decoder with the new version + new version of Nvidia drivers to get Pureview video support.

So far, I am incredibly impressed. I get pure, over the air recordings of ABC, NBC, UPN, etc. here in KC at beautiful 1080i/720p. I get analog recordings that look very good, thanks to the Nvidia tuner.

So far, I'm incredibly happy with the box, and it's ability to connect with my home network.. Using a few tweaks, I've managed to get some pretty cool stuff working with it, and it's my pride and joy for a TiVO, beating out by far most anything else I have.. including new cool add-ons that you can get that will archive programs in DiVX for permanent storage Posted Image
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#7 of 70 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted February 07 2005 - 02:27 PM

Quote:
JonE, do you know if you can rip movies with say dvdshrink (My home movies of course) to you hard drive and then view via an Media Center extender? I have seen mixed statements on whether this is possible or not.

No. Not at all, there are people who've posted tweaks, but they generally don't work worth a darn. You can check the forums at http://www.xpmce.com/

Most of the extenders (like Linksys, etc.) also won't do DiVX.. one trick.. install the latest version of Nero and you can do MP4.. with a small registry tweak.. beautiful! I've archived tons of totally unavailable TV that way..
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#8 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 08 2005 - 02:25 AM

Is there software that will take my movies and put them on my hardrive that I can then use Media center to watch. i have tried DVD Shrink but Media center is not seeing the movies in my folders.

#9 of 70 OFFLINE   JonE

JonE

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 07 2005

Posted February 08 2005 - 02:27 AM

MCE 2005 uses a propitiatory file extension that nothing as far as I know recognizes. That’s why we can’t record them to DVD.

#10 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 08 2005 - 04:55 AM

I basically want to take home movies and rip them to my hard drive and then use "My Video" on WMCE 2005 to pull these up on my T.V to watch. There has to be a way to do this or why would WMCE 2005 have a My Video Category?

I'm not using an extender just straight PC to TV.

#11 of 70 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted February 08 2005 - 05:32 AM

Yes. Any file format playable in WMP10 is playable in MCE, and you can capture however you want.. I have tons of "my videos" in various MPEG, WMV, DiVX, MP4 formats.. anyway, you can capture those however you want..

VOB, however, is a specifically non-supported format; it is so because MS's agreement with DRM (Digital Rights Management) built into MCE2004/2005, which prevents you from reading VOBs (DVD format) from a hard disc, in order to prevent piracy..

So, if you capture it in any other format, that's fine.. but VOBs (what things like DVD-Shrink generate) it's a no go.

You can, however, use Dr. DiVX or Nero Recode to capture them into MP4 or DiVX format and then it's playable on MCE2005.
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#12 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 08 2005 - 05:36 AM

Chris, can you give me a link link on info on how to do this? Transfer VOB to MP4 and Divx? And how is the Video and Audio Quality on these formats?

Thanks

#13 of 70 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted February 08 2005 - 07:44 AM

Depends. See: http://www.nerodigital.com/ for all the details on MP4, to get ideas on how to transfer from one to the other go to http://www.dvdrhelp.com/
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#14 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 08 2005 - 07:58 AM

Which format has better video quality and will be able to play back Dolby Digital and DTS?

Thanks

Great sites

#15 of 70 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted February 08 2005 - 09:33 AM

You can include a Dolby Digital stream in MP4 (NeroDigital) why would you need a DTS stream in your home films? No home camcorder I'm aware of has DTS, and any other use of copying for storage is not legal in the US, and can't be discussed in this forum Posted Image
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#16 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 09 2005 - 05:49 AM

There are camcorders that have DTS capability.

I have taken one of my home movies and copied into Nero Digital, when I go into Media Center it sees the Video but says it is unable to play. Any ideas?

#17 of 70 OFFLINE   Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper

    Lead Actor



  • 6,504 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 1999

Posted February 09 2005 - 06:27 AM

There are camcorders that have DTS capability.


where?
Need an introduction to home theater? Check out our FAQ and Primer!!

#18 of 70 OFFLINE   Steve F M

Steve F M

    Screenwriter



  • 1,132 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2003

Posted February 09 2005 - 09:06 AM

I thought the Hi-Def camcorders from JVC had the capability. I might be wrong. My Sony I have now has Dolby Digital capability which is really nice.

I ripped my DVD home movie from my Sony Camcorder Mini DVD via Nero Digital onto my hard drive and then burned it onto another DVD and it plays fine in Media Center but that copy of my home video that is on my hard drive in Nero Digital won't play in Media Center.

Any ideas why not? Its the same copy that I burned onto another DVD that is on my hard drive. They are both in Nero Digital.

#19 of 70 OFFLINE   Will_B

Will_B

    Producer



  • 4,733 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 06 2001

Posted February 09 2005 - 09:38 AM

Throwing in a monkey wrench here: Isn't the next release of Sonic Solution's MyDVD supposed to be the one official way to transfer Media Center recordings to DVD? I know Nero has hacked it, but my impression was Sonic was the one company that was doing it with Microsoft's help.
"Scientists are saying the future is going to be far more futuristic than they originally predicted." -Krysta Now

#20 of 70 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted February 09 2005 - 01:48 PM

Quote:
I have taken one of my home movies and copied into Nero Digital, when I go into Media Center it sees the Video but says it is unable to play. Any ideas?

Minor bit of registry editing Posted Image Go into the registry and find the file type ".MP4" under HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT

Add this key:

PerceivedType

With the value:

video

Walla! As long as you have NeroVisions installed on your MCE box, you're good to go.

as to this question:

Quote:
Throwing in a monkey wrench here: Isn't the next release of Sonic Solution's MyDVD supposed to be the one official way to transfer Media Center recordings to DVD? I know Nero has hacked it, but my impression was Sonic was the one company that was doing it with Microsoft's help.

No. The software just has to have MCE hooks, which Nero after version 6.6 officially does, and is supported by MS, straight through the UI.
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07





Forum Nav Content I Follow