Jump to content

Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Top Gun SE - Wrong Disc In Package

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 OFFLINE   DavidS


    Stunt Coordinator

  • 236 posts
  • Join Date: May 24 2001

Posted December 27 2004 - 01:47 AM

I went to my local store with the red bullseye for a logo yesterday, to get something with my gift card. I ended up getting a copy of the "Top Gun" special edition, which was on sale, $10.00 . The problem is, when i opened the pacakge, which was clearly marked "Widescreen", there was a full-frame disc inside! At first, i thought this might be a printing mistake (ala "Liar Liar" SE), but alas, i popped the disc in, and... full-frame. Now, i want to return the package, and get a widescreen version (which is the only thing the store will let me do since it's opened), but i don't want to keep running into the same problem. Should i try the store, or skip them and address Paramount directly on this issue?


#2 of 13 OFFLINE   CraigF



  • 2,487 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 20 2002
  • Real Name:Craig
  • LocationToronto area, Canada

Posted December 27 2004 - 02:08 AM

I'd try the store, and open the new disc in the store. Unless it's an isolated example, you won't be the only one who'll complain, so the store might as well know.

#3 of 13 OFFLINE   Chad A Wright

Chad A Wright

    Supporting Actor

  • 740 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 22 2002

Posted December 27 2004 - 02:50 AM

Yeah, try the store again. I haven't heard any other reports of this, and my copy was fine.

#4 of 13 OFFLINE   Dennis*G


    Supporting Actor

  • 524 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 07 2003

Posted December 27 2004 - 03:12 AM

yep, back to the store. The store will open the new copy anyway, so you will know right away if you get the correct copy.

#5 of 13 OFFLINE   Kajs


    Second Unit

  • 450 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 22 2001

Posted December 27 2004 - 11:26 AM

I had a different Top Gun DVD problem...there were fingerprints on both discs. It was from DDD and was completely sealed. I don't understand.

#6 of 13 OFFLINE   Christopher_H


    Stunt Coordinator

  • 115 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 17 2002

Posted December 27 2004 - 04:29 PM

I opened mine and it was missing the insert. Did this happen to anyone else?

#7 of 13 OFFLINE   Dave Farley

Dave Farley

    Second Unit

  • 412 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 2004

Posted December 27 2004 - 05:39 PM

In the Top Gun thread, they mentioned that there is no insert.
I've had this happen with all three sets of the new Star Trek:TOS season sets from Paramount. At least 2-4 discs in every set have been fingerprinted and some have even been scratched. The scratched and skipping sets have been a real headache. After getting my second season 3 set, only to have more scratched up and skipping discs, I went back to the store and had to open three more and build one-scratch free set in front of the Best Buy clerk. I did a quick check of the new discs and so far, so good. I also had two other recent Paramount titles with fingerprints. The one connection between all of my Star Trek sets, the other two fingerprinted titles, a friend's Happy Days set, and the Top Gun set: All made in Mexico and all by Paramount. Apparently, they've shifted production there. I've never had these kind of problems before and my collection is 400+.

#8 of 13 OFFLINE   DavidS


    Stunt Coordinator

  • 236 posts
  • Join Date: May 24 2001

Posted December 28 2004 - 12:50 AM

What, so now Paramount is too cheap to buy rubber gloves for the employees? "Paramount - We skip the quality control and pass the savings on to you" In any case, the saga continues... I went back to the store. They were more than willing to oblige my request for an exchange... but they were out of stock. So now i have to wait until a new shipment comes in.


#9 of 13 OFFLINE   Nate Anderson

Nate Anderson


  • 1,153 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2001

Posted December 28 2004 - 04:15 AM

I had this happen once when I purchased my copy of Red Dragon a couple years back. Just return it to the store and pick up a new copy, hopefully it's the right one. That's what I did.
My Extensive DVD collection.

Shameless Webpage Plug: My Movie Reviews.

#10 of 13 OFFLINE   DavidS


    Stunt Coordinator

  • 236 posts
  • Join Date: May 24 2001

Posted December 28 2004 - 06:34 AM

to recap, they were out of stock. i have to wait until they get some more in.


#11 of 13 OFFLINE   CaseyL


    Supporting Actor

  • 803 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 29 2002

Posted December 28 2004 - 07:01 AM

Unless it has anything to do with Star Trek, then we ring you dry. I haven't had any problems with this so far, but I'll be a bit more conscious of it in the future.

#12 of 13 OFFLINE   Grant H

Grant H


  • 2,844 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2002

Posted December 28 2004 - 07:22 AM

I used the sheet on the back of the bonus disc package as an insert. Amazingly, I managed to fit the third disc in in its paper/plastic sleeve in the case and got to close okay too.
My midis bring all the Force to the yard; my midis are better than yours!

#13 of 13 OFFLINE   Nathan*W



  • 1,069 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 09 2001
  • Real Name:Nathan

Posted December 28 2004 - 07:42 AM

Isn't there a disc tray that clips onto those insert tabs? I wonder if that would work for Top Gun? Probably not, since it's already a two-disc set in a single width amaray.

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users