Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

powermid and extender


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   dan scorpio

dan scorpio

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 19 2003

Posted December 08 2004 - 12:18 PM

i have a projector and a pull down screen,when the screen is pulled down it blocks all my components,so i cannot use my remote..i say the power mid (st539,549)with the extender cable(rx569)now all my components are in a a/v tower,if i use the extender cable and place it in the middle of my cabinet will it control all my components? if no i seen a nother extender from another company that has dual emitters and they stick write the the components (receiver,dvd player) will this also work with the x10 powermids

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Dean_S

Dean_S

    Second Unit



  • 261 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2004

Posted December 09 2004 - 03:57 AM

I think any emitters will work with the powermid but I've never been impressed with the performance and longevity of the powermids I've owned. I have since switched to Xantech for IR repeaters. I just purchased a second Xantech kit (this comes with a IR recv, dist block, power supply and 4 single IR emmitters for another room to replace a dead powermid. You can buy Xantech ala carte or in kit form, it's cheaper to get the kit if the provided IR recvr is a style that works for you. My father has a Xantech repeater system that is 20 years old and still getting used daily...I've never had an powermid last more then a couple of years.

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   dan scorpio

dan scorpio

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 19 2003

Posted December 09 2004 - 08:06 AM

what do you think of Hot Link Pro? are they better then the powermids for my aplication?

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Dean_S

Dean_S

    Second Unit



  • 261 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2004

Posted December 09 2004 - 08:33 AM

I've heard of them but for some reason (probably age) I can't remember it. Do you have a link for it to refresh my memory???

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   dan scorpio

dan scorpio

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 19 2003

Posted December 09 2004 - 11:15 AM

yes i do www.hot-link.com

but i need a retailer in canada does anyone know of any?

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Dean_S

Dean_S

    Second Unit



  • 261 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2004

Posted December 10 2004 - 02:06 AM

The hot link is similar to the Xantech kit. The differences I can see are the hot link comes with more emitters but looks like it's just cheap plastic and the cables don't look like they can be unplugged from the "black box" (which might make running the wires more difficult). The Xantech is less expensive, looks far more expensive and has flexibility to be expanded (and cables can be disconnected).

The Xantech Kit I mentioned is less expensive and more flexible. Here's a link to where I purchased mine: http://www.asihome.c....roducts_id=669

It appears that ASIhome does ship to Canada.