Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Plasma Horizontal Banding


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   DarrenH

DarrenH

    Agent



  • 37 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2003

Posted November 20 2004 - 11:21 AM

Hi all, Just got a Panasonic TH-37PD25U and seeing some horizontal banding, either from HD cable box or DVD player. Both these sources are switched through a Sony STR-DE2ES. Using AR Pro component cables, made sure there were no power cables around the video signal cables. Any thoughts as to what can be done to get rid of the banding? Thanks...

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Leo Kerr

Leo Kerr

    Screenwriter



  • 1,699 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 1999

Posted November 21 2004 - 12:26 AM

Is the banding 'fixed' or scrolling? Is it streaks of brighter stuff, or streaks of darker stuff? Fixed size, irregular size? And is there any variation within the band itself? Without further information, my gut-level answer is, If it moves, is of irregular size, and may or may not have variations within band, it's an interference problem; possibly from the cables, possibly from the power, and possibly through some other noise-source getting introduced directly into the plasma display itself. (This possibly includes the plasma display interfering with itself, but that's mildly unlikely with the above qualifiers.) Leo Kerr

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   DarrenH

DarrenH

    Agent



  • 37 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2003

Posted November 21 2004 - 03:10 PM

Hi Leo, They scroll, bottom to top. The banding is lighter than the actual picture, and usually of uniform size. There is some variation of shade within the band. The TV came with ferrite cores but the manual did not say to put them on component or S-video cables (not even sure what these do). Any help much appreciated, thanks...

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   John S

John S

    Producer



  • 5,460 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 04 2003

Posted November 22 2004 - 04:19 AM

I'd temporarily move the display with one component that exhibits the issue only plugged in. If it goes away it is interference of some sort somewhere. I would assume you tried bypassing the AVR for switching? I mean, that is somewhat common on lesser AVR Component video switching.

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Leo Kerr

Leo Kerr

    Screenwriter



  • 1,699 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 1999

Posted November 22 2004 - 05:20 AM

A thought just occurred to me: are the three involved devices all plugged into the same circuit? Possible ground-loop issue here, too. I'm not entirely sure what to do with ferrite beads/cores, either. The good news is it sounds like it's a cable/interface issue. The bad news is it's probably a cable/interface issue. (Not, however, that it's an inferior cable, merely that the problem is coming from something in how the three devices are connected.) I would try, in this order: 1. Remove and replace all the component video connections, but especially thosse on the receiver and the display (essentially, pull the cable off, and put it right back on.) 2. move the display power to the same circuit/power strip as the other two devices. 2a. If it's not possible, 'lift' the ground wire on the display, just to check and see if it goes away. If it does, put it back, but know that you've got a ground-related issue. 3. bypass the receiver uhm, just occurred to me; you've got a major noise-source connected to the system: the cable system. Change the above list to, 0. Disconnect the feed from the cable box; the one from the pole, not the component video connection from the box to the rest of the system. Leo Kerr

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   DarrenH

DarrenH

    Agent



  • 37 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 28 2003

Posted November 22 2004 - 05:56 AM

Thanks for the responses. The display is on the same power strip as the rest of the gear. This is just regular old power strip, not anything that does any cleaning. Will try your suggestions when I get home tonight. Thanks again!

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   mecolwell

mecolwell

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2011

Posted January 17 2011 - 04:57 AM

 I have a 4 month old Samsung 58" Plasma. This is a "normal" occurrence with Plasma technology, I am afraid. I am not sure the technical reasons, but it is common on all plasmas and I have read about it here and there. I see it on lettering against a white background, for example, and the streaking is a slightly lower brightness from the lettering, to the edge of the screen, and it moves with it. The plasma images are superb, and this is just an anomoly with the technology. Enjoy! Mike




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users