Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Can anyone else NOT get HalfLife2 working?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#21 of 64 David Rogers

David Rogers

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 723 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 2000

Posted November 18 2004 - 04:55 AM

Stuttering: this indicates a graphics issue or probably a graphics loading issue. Basically, your graphics are too high. I let HL2 configure my settings, and it set them too high. The initial speeches (GMan, then the City 17 administrator in the displays as you get off the train) were stuttering noticably. Cranked down textures and shadows to medium, stuttering gone. Stuttering returns if I have played several hours without a reboot (since Windows isn't very good at releasing memory properly, eating through it during a session).

Registration. There is some way to set it to let you play offline without trying to hit net each time; not sure how to do it yet. I also have to look up how to make Steam not load everytime I boot my computer, as that is total BS. It's my computer, not Valve's.

This net authentication crap is just that; crap. I am very close to placing Valve on my do-not-buy list, right up there with Verant.

Anyone know how to set HL2 for off-line mode now ?
-----

Dave's World
-No matter where you go, there you are-

#22 of 64 Matt Stone

Matt Stone

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,070 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2000

Posted November 18 2004 - 05:19 AM

Quote:
I also have to look up how to make Steam not load everytime I boot my computer, as that is total BS. It's my computer, not Valve's


Click settings on the main Steam window, click the Interface tab, and uncheck "Run Steam when Windows starts."

Don't know about setting it so it will play without an internet connection, I'll look around.
In Heaven, everything is fine.
[ 2006 Films | 2005 Films | 2004 Films | 2003 Films | YMDB Top 20 ]
[ Star Wars | Sideshow | HT | DVDs | LDs | AIM: Maulrat87 ]

#23 of 64 Matt Stone

Matt Stone

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,070 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2000

Posted November 18 2004 - 05:24 AM

Quote:
Anyone know how to set HL2 for off-line mode now ?

Okay, I just disconnected my internet connection to test it out, and it plays fine. You only need to be connected to the internet to initially validate your game.
In Heaven, everything is fine.
[ 2006 Films | 2005 Films | 2004 Films | 2003 Films | YMDB Top 20 ]
[ Star Wars | Sideshow | HT | DVDs | LDs | AIM: Maulrat87 ]

#24 of 64 Romier S

Romier S

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 3,533 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 1999

Posted November 18 2004 - 06:29 AM

Quote:
Okay, I just disconnected my internet connection to test it out, and it plays fine. You only need to be connected to the internet to initially validate your game.

Correct. You don't even need to connect to the internet at all after the initial validation process. Simply start Steam and it will give you the option to start in Offfline mode. You can then choose to play any of the single player games you have available. The only time the game needs an internet connection is the initial validation process. That's it.

#25 of 64 Scott L

Scott L

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted November 18 2004 - 08:42 AM

I get stuttering too with a 6800GT, many others with decent hardware also have the same problem. I don't think it's because the graphics are up too high, a patch is needed is all.

#26 of 64 Nick Sievers

Nick Sievers

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 3,481 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2000

Posted November 18 2004 - 09:26 AM

Quote:
I don't think it's because the graphics are up too high, a patch is needed is all.

That was my guess as well. While I haven't experienced this in HL2 yet I was playing CS:Source last night (forgot just how fun that game is) and there were a couple of maps where I got some stuttering and I wasn't alone. Hopefully a patch comes out very soon.
Top 10 Film Lists: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004
Film Lists: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005

#27 of 64 Matt Stone

Matt Stone

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,070 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2000

Posted November 18 2004 - 02:31 PM

Whew, just fought off a bunch of Striders. That was tough work. The combat in the city is so damn realistic. I feel like I'm in WWIII or something. This is quickly becoming my favorite game of all time. Just amazing.
In Heaven, everything is fine.
[ 2006 Films | 2005 Films | 2004 Films | 2003 Films | YMDB Top 20 ]
[ Star Wars | Sideshow | HT | DVDs | LDs | AIM: Maulrat87 ]

#28 of 64 brentl

brentl

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 2,918 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 1999

Posted November 19 2004 - 01:25 AM

So far it's amazing, I just finished the swamp buggie part and that was lots of fun. When I play through it again I'll stop, hop out, and take down all the baddies before reaching the end.

Brent

#29 of 64 Jesse Blacklow

Jesse Blacklow

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 2,049 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 14 2002

Posted November 19 2004 - 04:30 AM

Fucking ridiculous. I actually buy the hardcopy Collector's edition, so as to avoid the large majority of Steam issues, only to find out that Steam still has to "validate" and "unlock" 800+ MB of files after signing me up. After that crap is supposedly done, the game refuses to load. Restart. Run Steam again, nothing indicates the game is not ready to play, still won't run. Go to the web and find out I have to check the game's properties. Only "82% done of 833MB, Not Ready". What. The. Fuck. What does it need to download 833MB of? I have the goddamned DVD (reads 2.67GB used) in the drive! By this time, it's after midnight, so I let it (and myself) percolate overnight. I tried it before work, now it loads, but the load screen is all messed up, because apparently the latest MS-certified drivers from nVidia don't work for HL2. Of course, I can't do anything until I get back home, since I have to work to have the money to spend on a useless piece of plastic that for all intents and purposes, does nothing but accompany a T-shirt, artbook, and some cardboard.

Jesus God, this game better be the best thing ever to inhabit a hard disk. From what I can tell on the various internetsPosted Image, Valve and/or Vivendi screwed the pooch worse than anything that has come before.
"Would I rather be feared or loved? Um...easy, both. I want people to be afraid of how much they love me."
--Michael Scott, The Office

"When I get sad I just stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story."
--Barney Stinson, How I Met Your Mother

#30 of 64 Matt Stone

Matt Stone

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,070 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2000

Posted November 19 2004 - 04:47 AM

Quote:
Valve and/or Vivendi screwed the pooch worse than anything that has come before.


The certainly screwed the pooch for people that have problems, but those of us that didn't have any problems aren't complaining. Unlocking and vaidating took me about 20 minutes, and I haven't had any problems.

This may not be the most efficient way to release a game (if you buy it on CD/DVD, you shouldn't have to validate/unlock), but I'm not having any problems. I'm not exactly trying to defend the distribution method, just saying that not everyone is having trouble.
In Heaven, everything is fine.
[ 2006 Films | 2005 Films | 2004 Films | 2003 Films | YMDB Top 20 ]
[ Star Wars | Sideshow | HT | DVDs | LDs | AIM: Maulrat87 ]

#31 of 64 Rob Speicher

Rob Speicher

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 935 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 24 2000

Posted November 19 2004 - 05:46 AM

I purchased the Steam version and was playing at 00:25 PST Tuesday morning, without a problem. Beat it Thursday night.

#32 of 64 Marvin Richardson

Marvin Richardson

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 750 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 16 1999

Posted November 19 2004 - 10:32 AM

I didn't have any "problems" but I think it is absolutely ludicrous that I spent $86.47 ($79.99 + tax) exactly to avoid this Steam mess and still spent over an hour installing this game. It took me about 10 minutes to "install" the game off the DVD before the Steam insanity began. Can anyone explain to me why two days after the game was released I waited for a freaking hour for this game to unlock all the files? I have a cable modem, and my download speeds clock in around 2-3 Mbs, I have a P4 3.2 GHz processor, 2GB of RAM, a Western Digital 74GB 10,000 RPM Raptor hard drive and a GeForce 6800 GT (not that that should have anything to do with this part). I think its absolutely inexcusable to have to validate files. If I have a store bought DVD and a keycode, there is no reason why the game can't simply communicate with a server somewhere and ask if this combination has been used on a different piece of hardware, just like Windows, Norton and several other products do. I'm terribly sorry that someone stole their precious source code, but you know what? That's not my problem.
I also don't buy their bs excuse of too many people trying to activate the game. You know, as much as they are charging, and as wide-spread as the hype for this game was, they damn well should've had enough bandwidth to handle this. The fact that they didn't shows either extreme incompetence or stupidity.
On the upside, at least it is a good game. For as long as I've been able to play it that is.
Edit: Oh, and by the way, I'm a software tester, and I learned a longtime ago that it doesn't matter how many people are not having problems. What matters is how many people are. To all those who aren't or only had to wait 20 minutes, consider yourselves lucky.

#33 of 64 Max Leung

Max Leung

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 4,612 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 2000

Posted November 20 2004 - 07:00 PM

I had to wait more than an hour to "unlock" the game. It only took 15 minutes to install off the DVD.

What the fuck was steam doing all this time?

The irony: if I really wanted to, I could have gotten the grey market version of the game, and have had it installed and running in less time (I have 5 megabits of bandwidth and lots of HD space). I am serious!

But, I suppose the t-shirt and crippled strategy guide was worth it...?

In retrospect, I could have done both actually...get the best of both worlds...no guilt, and less wait time (and also, interestingly, less problems - quite a few people using Steam and the retail discs have had corrupted HL2 installs!)

Fortunately, it seems Valve has finally added a file integrity check to Steam - now you can know for sure if your HL2 install is corrupted. Posted Image
Mahatma Gandhi, as you know, walked barefoot most of the time, which produced an impressive set of calluses on his feet. He also ate very little, which made him rather frail and with his odd diet, he suffered from bad breath. This made him...a super-callused fragile mystic hexed by halitosis.

Gamesh....

#34 of 64 Matt Stone

Matt Stone

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,070 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2000

Posted November 20 2004 - 07:30 PM

Quote:
What the fuck was steam doing all this time?


Downloading about 800 megs of extra files. Don't ask me why though. You'd assume that after you installed a game off of a DVD, you'd actually have installed.

I had completely preloaded off of Steam, so the unlocking and validating portion only took me 15 minutes. For what it's worth, I didn't have a single problem.

Quote:
To all those who aren't or only had to wait 20 minutes, consider yourselves lucky.


I guess I do, but it's hard for me to get as bent out of shape about this than people who had major problems. The fact is that everything was gravy for me and my friends that preloaded off of Steam. Not saying that it leaves Valve un-accountable, just saying that the system is only flawed...not the complete disaster that some are painting.
In Heaven, everything is fine.
[ 2006 Films | 2005 Films | 2004 Films | 2003 Films | YMDB Top 20 ]
[ Star Wars | Sideshow | HT | DVDs | LDs | AIM: Maulrat87 ]

#35 of 64 Timon Russo

Timon Russo

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 213 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2000

Posted November 22 2004 - 06:42 AM

I have been playing, and its fun, but I am still pretty pissed about the time wasted and error messages. In fact, I disabled Steam from starting when I boot windows, because it immediately gave me an error saying it couldn't find the internet connect... NO SHIT! I have dial-up and need to establish it manually! Did this really not occurr to them or do they just not care that people get error messages on booting. Also, the first time I play, I get that error message again, and have to hit the PLAY OFFLINE button. Isn't there some way to have it ALWAYS play offline automatically? Help?

#36 of 64 Gregg Shiu

Gregg Shiu

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 420 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 11 2001

Posted November 22 2004 - 07:46 AM

Quote:
I haven't even taken the CD out of the case yet so I'm waiting on upgrading my Video Card to ATI's Radeon X800. Should I get Pro or XT?

Dome, just save yourself a whole bunch of money and get the Pro, as XT is a bit excessive for the average gamer. This site has reviews of the MSI and Asus releases of the x800 pro. There's also the excalibur, powercolor, and sapphire packages. I know the Sapphire x800 Pro Toxic Edition can be upgraded to what is essentially an x800 XT, if you really must have it.

Here's the link for that.

I'm soooo freaking glad I purchased this via steam and decided to sell my copy before opening it, after reading about all the problems some friends and you guys have had with authenticating and whatnot. It's absurd. Almost as absurd as the fact that all I've done so far is play Counter-Strike: Source, and none of Half Life 2 yet. Posted Image
"-king sixty-three hundred dollar suit! COME ON!" - Gob


John 3:16My DVD CollectionMy CD Collection

#37 of 64 Dome Vongvises

Dome Vongvises

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 8,174 posts
  • Join Date: May 13 2001

Posted November 22 2004 - 08:08 AM

No problems yet. Installed fine. Thanks for the advice.

#38 of 64 Martin Rendall

Martin Rendall

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 05 2000

Posted November 22 2004 - 08:15 AM

Why does my copy insist on having the CD in the drive before it will start?

Martin.
Hopelessly out of date DVD Collection Listing

#39 of 64 Matt Stone

Matt Stone

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,070 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2000

Posted November 22 2004 - 08:43 AM

Most games are like that. It's a form of copy protection...to make sure you have the CD.
In Heaven, everything is fine.
[ 2006 Films | 2005 Films | 2004 Films | 2003 Films | YMDB Top 20 ]
[ Star Wars | Sideshow | HT | DVDs | LDs | AIM: Maulrat87 ]

#40 of 64 Steve Deacon

Steve Deacon

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2000

Posted November 22 2004 - 08:53 AM

Store bought versions still have a CD check, Steam bought installs of course do not. The CD check is likely a requirement stipulated by Vivendi Universal, rather than Valve.

I doubt Valve mind too much though. It could be seen as a fuck you to all the people that said they wouldn't touch Steam, and were going to get a store bought version to avoid it.

I went the Steam route myself, and apart from a period of a couple of hours where I couldn't get back into Steam (right after playing the game for an hour or so, which was REALLY frustating), I've had no problems with it.

The idea that it authenticates every time you play seems rather draconian though, and judging by its appearance on the warez circuit, it hasn't done much to prevent piracy.

I can see as a long term goal, the idea of well off developers ditching the traditional publisher must seem very attractive, more money for them, and less hassle. It *should* also benefit the consumer too, as they could lower prices and still make more profits than they do currently.


Back to Video Gaming


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


Forum Nav Content I Follow