-

Photo

Joining the HDTV ranks! Have a few questions. *a bit long*

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 Marc_F

Marc_F

Auditioning

• 8 posts

Posted February 17 2001 - 07:20 AM

Ok first I hope this is the correct forum to post in. My post kind of spans over many areas like Monitors/Satellite/HDTV and I thought this forum to be the most appropriate. If not then please move the thread moderators.

Ok, I am still relatively new to the home theater area. Last year I got a reciever with a 5.1 setup (Marantz reciever/B&W Speakers) thanks to the people here at the HTF. Over the past year I have been a Dishnetwork subscriber and have been itching to buy a HDTV. I've been reading up on various RPTVs, DILA, DLPs and such and just couldn't make up my mind on WHEN to get a HDTV. Well my b-day is a couple weeks away and my wife surprised me with the receipt for a brand new Toshiba 65H80 that is gonna be delivered in a couple weeks. Did I pick wisely or what when it comes to wives? hehe

Anyhow I have a bunch of things to get/do before the big set arrives and want to make sure I am not missing anything.

1) Get a dish 6000 reciever installed with the OTA module.
2) Get a progressive scan DVD player (might wait a bit on this)
3) Get a component rack/shelf
4) Might need a new antenna for the OTA module

Now for some questions...
- How difficult is it to install the dish for the 61.5 Satellite?
- If anyone in the Dallas area has a good store to goto to buy the 6000reciever etc let me know. I went to a place yesterday and I got a glazed look when I mentioned needing another dish besides the Dish500 to get the HDTV channels I wanted.
- Is a progressive DVD player a MUST right away? We are spending a bunch in a short period of time and wonder if this can just go on my 'Upgrade' list.