What's new

Suggestions for a SubWoofer Please (1 Viewer)

MalluS

Auditioning
Gurus:

I would like to get a suggestion for a sub-woofer that I would like add to my system. Currently getting by with a KLH sub (as a stop-gap..but is quite bad) and now want a decent sub. I have Boston Acoustics as rest of the speakers and a Yamaha RX420 (I think) as my receiver. Really hoping that it shall be under $500 (incl. shipping,taxes) . Dont have to stick with BA since subs can be independent of the 5 speakers. So far, I have heard/read the following to be good:

- SVS SubWoofers (like PB10-1SD)
- Velodyne
- Hsu Research (Like STF/VTF)
- Paradigm

I am a novice when it comes to subwoofers and this is going to be my first good sub purchase so any pointers on the what to look for in a sub and your recommendations shall be helpful. I think I need an active sub since its better and puts less strain on the receiver. I want your comments/opinions on the manufacturer's

- Quality
- Performance
- Warranty
- Customer Service (Dealing with issues, costs)
- Value Proposition

The room size is about 10 feet by 24 feet (Rectangular) but my setup (sofas) and stuff end at 14 feet...but do mind the fill the entire room with good base. :D I would like a get a good sub that would last me few yrs.

If you can also point me to threads/sites where I can read about how best way to setup/calibrate the sub/speakers, that would be great!

Thanks!! Your suggestions and opinions shall be very appreciated.

JamesCB

Second Unit
You could get literally thousands of suggestions, comments, reviews, and opinions on subwoofers. It is your job to filter out what you need and want to pursue.

There is a handy search function on this and many other forums to help you get the info you need.

James

PS:
Base: Bottom portion of an object.
Bass: Lower frequncies, also a fish.

Aaron_Mum

Stunt Coordinator
Fire up the search function and start reading. Here are a couple links: