Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

What should I tell the builder to add????


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 OFFLINE   Angelo_Petralba

Angelo_Petralba

    Second Unit



  • 366 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 2002

Posted September 08 2004 - 10:07 AM

Hello All-

I am having a house built that will have a dedicated "Media Room"..I want this to be my HT room...It's roughly 18 X 14 (I can enlarge it if needed).

Should I have them Pre-Wire (Video, 7.1 Audio Set-up, Projector wiring, etc etc) everything??
Should I have them install extra Wall Padding?
Should I use Carpet/Wood/Tile for flooring?
Should I bring in an HT specialist to the builder??


Thanks for reading and your response.

Angelo

It is what it is......... Akuna Matata


My DVD Collection

#2 of 12 OFFLINE   Demetrius

Demetrius

    Agent



  • 45 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 22 2003

Posted September 08 2004 - 10:46 AM

Angelo,
You have an great opportunity! I would suggest getting a pro to help. Your room has the potential to be awesome, however if you wait too long your options start dwindling. There are so many things that you can do now, you need to start with "What exactly are you going to expect from this new media room". Figure out how much you are confortable with spending and either find a local HT pro or get the answer to the previous questions and post your desires here and I am sure we can help answer your questions and steer you in the right direction.
1) How many seats do you want/need?
2) Are you going to listen to music?
3) Is it going to be dedicated for Movies/Sports/Music?
4) Do you want to store DVD/CD in your media room?

Check out some of the HT in HTF gallery maybe you can get some ideas!

Demetrius Roberts

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   Angelo_Petralba

Angelo_Petralba

    Second Unit



  • 366 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 2002

Posted September 08 2004 - 11:11 AM

Demetrius-

Thanks for the response..I just read the entire build-up of mr Scott Pope's theater and its pretty awesome...I don't think I'll go to that extreme unless my budget permits.


This room will be mostly for Movies(50 %), Music (25 %), Games (25 %).

I'll be using some gear that I already have like speakers, Subwoofer, recycled seats, wiring, DVD player and amplifiers.
The things I will be purchasing will mostlikely be a new Receiver, a projector and screen.

Budget will be between 15K.

Thanks
Angelo

It is what it is......... Akuna Matata


My DVD Collection

#4 of 12 OFFLINE   Matthew Todd

Matthew Todd

    Second Unit



  • 339 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 03 2000

Posted September 08 2004 - 11:29 AM

Angelo, this post is actually copied from my response to a similar question several days ago, but I thought it might be helpful.

Since it's being built from scratch, you have a great opportunity here to really do things right (and that doesn't necessarily mean expensive). Is this room meant for anything other than media? Is it "dedicated"?

I have an unfinished basement room almost that same size that we will be turning into a dedicated theater, and one thing that I will definitely do is to get help from someone who specializes in home theater design before building the theater.

Basically, you can end up building a room and putting fairly expensive equipment in it, but getting relatively poor results. The room is a big part of how a theater is going to perform (sound and video).

Personally, I plan to get design help from Dennis Erskine (I'm sure there are others here on the forum who have used his services or are familiar with his reputation)

Here is his website:

http://www.designcinema.com/

I would contact Dennis Erskine (or someone like him) by email or phone and explain what you're interested in doing.

I believe that Dennis has worked with a wide range of budgets, and he is willing to work with those who want to do a lot or most of the work themselves.

Another forum in addition to here that you should visit is:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/

Especially check out the "Home Theater Builder" forum section. You can find numerous posts by Dennis and others there that will help you in building the theater (especially if you decide to design it yourself)

Matt
"Do not use to unclog a disposal drain." - On a box of Dynamite (from Joseph Howard)

#5 of 12 OFFLINE   Angelo_Petralba

Angelo_Petralba

    Second Unit



  • 366 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 2002

Posted September 08 2004 - 11:37 AM

Thanks Matt...greately appreciated!!

Angelo

It is what it is......... Akuna Matata


My DVD Collection

#6 of 12 OFFLINE   Jim Sentry

Jim Sentry

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 179 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002

Posted September 29 2004 - 11:00 AM

Unquestionably add extra ventilation. A projector can heat an enclosed room quite a bit.

#7 of 12 OFFLINE   JustinG

JustinG

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 114 posts
  • Join Date: May 21 2003

Posted September 30 2004 - 02:53 AM

also, don't forget to run Cat 5 for networking and phone lines for the room. You may have an HTPC later on and you'll want to be able to hook up to the network.

#8 of 12 OFFLINE   Dave Milne

Dave Milne

    Supporting Actor



  • 569 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2001

Posted September 30 2004 - 03:05 PM

Angelo,
Definitely call Dennis or other professional to help with the planning.

But if nothing else... PRE WIRE EVERYTHING!
It is so cheap to do now, and so much a pain to do later:
7.1 sound
Optional subwoofer locations
Platform bass shakers
Video, power, and screen trigger to projector mount
CAT5E for networking
CATV, OTA and/or Satellite feeds
Extra dedicated 120V circuits for equipment
Extra lighting circuits (sconces, etc)
Power for motorized screen
Computer interface to video display
Multi-zone speakers from equipment area
Phone line for TIVO
Security equipment
etc.

#9 of 12 OFFLINE   shaniceMW

shaniceMW

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 205 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 28 2004

Posted October 01 2004 - 01:03 AM

my builder said they use cat5 for all of their wiring. i dont know if i believe them. since they put it in writing, i will hold them to it. but for every electrical outlet they say they run cat 5. we shall see. do builders use rg6?

#10 of 12 OFFLINE   Dave Milne

Dave Milne

    Supporting Actor



  • 569 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2001

Posted October 01 2004 - 01:30 AM

Shanice,
Cat5 is only for telephone/data/networking. Electrical power still requires power cable (typically 14/2 or 12/2 NM "Romex"). CATV, Satellite and OTA antenna feeds still require coax (75 ohm, RG59 or RG6).

If your builder is saying they run Romex and Cat5 to every outlet, this means they will have two wall plates at every location. Ridiculous overkill. Since all network cables should go directly back to a central "home run" location, not "daisy chained" like power and telephone, this would be miles of wire. Tell them to save the thousands it would cost and buy you an $80 in-home wireless network kit from LinkSys, NetGear, etc.

#11 of 12 OFFLINE   shaniceMW

shaniceMW

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 205 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 28 2004

Posted October 01 2004 - 04:26 AM

i know. i asked the builder specifically. let me get my email out.

From me:

Quote:
Another question I had is: is category 5 cabling an option in DR Horton homes? Hi Leslie. Will we be able to specify where we want the cat 5 jacks? Is there a command center box for the cable and networking? If so, where are the jacks? Or do we tell you where we want them?


From the builder:
Quote:
All of the wiring is Cat 5 - it is not structured wiring and therefore does not have a junction box in the BSMT. It is pulled from outside. All of the outlets that you already have in your contract will be Cat 5 as STD


i have a belkin wireless system. i'm simply thinking about resale. i will tell them if they can to just run drops from the outlets i specify to the basement and have one from the demarc to the basement and i will get a command center. that's if they let me do that. if not, i guess i will do the same thing. it will be a bit uglier but it will work. why the heck is this stuff not standard? it costs less to do it this way than to terminate everything outside. ugh.

#12 of 12 OFFLINE   Dave Milne

Dave Milne

    Supporting Actor



  • 569 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2001

Posted October 03 2004 - 02:37 AM

I think what they are saying is, "all of the networking outlets that you already have in your contract will be Cat5 as STD" as opposed to Cat 3 perhaps.





Forum Nav Content I Follow