What's new

How Often Will There Be a New Format Generation? (1 Viewer)

MikeEckman

Screenwriter
I was just thinking. I am about to celebrate my 26th birthday. Ive been collecting DVDs now for about 5 years. I have replaced many VHS tapes that my parents bought when I was younger, so we can reasonably say I am on my 2nd generation of home video.

Lets say I replaced my entire library (or at least the good movies :D ) each time a new format came out.

How many times do you think I will have bought the same movie by the time I am 75 or something?

Once every 5 years, 10..20? What do you all think?

Joshua Clinard

Screenwriter
Real Name
Joshua Clinard
I think it will be a long time between HD-DVD and the next format. Much longer than DVD has been around. I would say at least 15-20 years before the next one. That puts it around 2025.

PeterK

Supporting Actor
Well, hd-dvd will be starting. I think that will be around for quite a few years 10-20. what ever is after that will probably be so close to real life PQ that it will be the last format that provides substantial PQ diffenences. there will probably be several different formats but all will yeild roughly the same results. after that who knows? Can you say holodeck?

Rolando

Screenwriter
HOLODECK! HOLODECK! HOLODECK! HOLODECK!

alright... calming down...

Seriously though I would be VERY HAPPY to upgrade my entire collection every 10 to 15 years. I'm a freak. If it can be made better, do it. I will buy.

I almost hope HD-DVD will be a niche market with movies costing $50 each. Should cut down on Pan and Crap releases, and any error gets fixed because 90% of the buyers will notice and complain.

Don't get me wrong, at that price I can barely afford one a month but it would be so worth it...

Mitch Stevens

Supporting Actor