What's new

Memory Cards? (1 Viewer)

Aaron Silverman

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Aaron Silverman
Hi Gang,

Looks like I'm pretty much decided on the new Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ20. But here's the deal -- I have NO knowledge of memory cards! This camera uses SD and MMC cards. Which is better? What's a reasonable price? Are there certain brands to avoid/ look for? I know that there are differences in speed between cards, but how does one compare speeds?

Any info is much appreciated!

Travis Hedger

Supporting Actor
You want the high speed cards that write 9-10MB per second. Lexar has a brand out that has like 60x on it. Any Panasonic SD card that is 256 or above will be high speed, but they are expensive...however, Outpost.com has a sale on the 256 model right now. $49.99 for the unit with a rebate that makes it $19.99 after all is said and done.

Sandisk cards are to be avoided from what I have read.

Aaron Silverman

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Aaron Silverman
I think I just asked Travis the same question in another thread without realizing he'd already answered here. :) Anyone else have any good or bad experiences with particular brands of SD cards?

Holadem

Senior HTF Member
I am interested in this topic as well, namely, how many high quality pictures from a 3.2MP camera (Canon SD-110) can a 256MB card hold?

--
H

Dennis_H

Stunt Coordinator
My mom and dad have a sandisk SD card that they used on their last vacation. Near the end of the trip, the card went south. They sent it to me and I tried using PC Inspector Smart recovery to get the pictures back. All were lost and the card won't format or work anymore. So, I would avoid using the Sandisk products in the future...

Aaron Silverman

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Aaron Silverman
Travis,

Can you point me to any online reviews or discussion of the Kingmax brand? How did you decide on it? They sound like a good deal, but I've never heard of them before.

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member