What's new

Bose and the wife..... (1 Viewer)

William_Gravem

Stunt Coordinator
Frustrating weekend.

I've spent the last month + budgeting and beginning a research effort looking into speakers/subs/receivers/pre-wiring behind drywall/etc. so that when my condo is done being built, I can have a nice music/theater system in the living room to go with the nice new tv. While I'm still a newbie, I've learned a lot in this time.

On Sunday I drove a little over an hour to check out a dealer that I pulled off the paradigm website. It's probably the 5th or 6th a/v store that I've been to. I figure different dealers stress different things and that I always learn something new when I hear another (albeit often biased) point of view.... Only, this time my wife decided to tag along.

I'm interested in paradigm's monitor 5's (among others). Since it's a condo, space is at a premium, and I've been impressed with the price and presence of these speakers. We go to demo them and my wife immediately gets a sour look and declares they're too big. So I figure that she'll change her mind when she hears them. No-dice. About half way through the second song I ask what she thinks. She says "I get the point: they're loud... so what? All this is going to do is make our neighbors hate us. And they're huge! Why can't you just get some of those Bose cubes? They can be just as loud."

Now, I'm trying to find something good and wall-mountable, B&W and paradigm both make on wall speakers (although B&W's are a bit out of my price range)... and I know Axiom's get great reviews and the M22ti can be wall mounted w/ their full metal bracket... but when a good sound-stage sounds loud and offensive to her, I don't know what to make of that.

I'm sure I'm not the first person who's ran into this. Any advice?

---Bill

FeisalK

Screenwriter
how about the Paradigm Cinema series - i know they're too small for you but they sound good and appease the missus at the same time :)