Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Quick ? for Yamaha HTR-5760 users


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Robert James Clark

Robert James Clark

    Second Unit



  • 352 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted August 28 2004 - 08:38 AM

Does the onscreen display come through on the component output? Thanks, Robert

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Kevin Alexander

Kevin Alexander

    Screenwriter



  • 1,367 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 17 1999

Posted August 28 2004 - 09:23 AM

No, it comes through on the analog only, if I'm not mistaken. I have one BTW. The 1400/5790 has component upconversion, so the OSD would be present through the component input.
"What does God want with a Starship?" - Captain Kirk from Star Trek V: The Final Frontier.

"For the first few minutes of the film, I had accidently listened to the Dolby Digital track." - Ron Epstein (HTF)

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Wayne Ernst

Wayne Ernst

    Screenwriter



  • 2,589 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2002

Posted August 28 2004 - 10:01 AM

As Kevin indicated, just the composite and S-Video connections output to On-screen.
"My reality check ... just bounced"

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Robert James Clark

Robert James Clark

    Second Unit



  • 352 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted August 28 2004 - 11:29 AM

Shoot, guess I'll have to pony up for the 5790. Thanks for answering!

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Wayne Ernst

Wayne Ernst

    Screenwriter



  • 2,589 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2002

Posted August 28 2004 - 11:33 AM

Robert, Actually, this is not too big of a deal. Keep in mind that some TVs can't properly display signals from the receiver because they might be incapable of doing this. You can still connect a standard composite or S-Video cable between the receiver and your TV to display setup information when you initially setup the receiver. The only thing that will not be present is the display information on the TV each time you change the volume on the receiver.
"My reality check ... just bounced"

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Robert James Clark

Robert James Clark

    Second Unit



  • 352 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted August 28 2004 - 12:08 PM

My current Onkyo TX-600 only outputs info on composite so I'm used to it with my Panasonic AE500u. Just interested in being able to see it onscreen without turning on my monitor.

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Kenneth Harden

Kenneth Harden

    Screenwriter



  • 1,365 posts
  • Join Date: May 13 2002

Posted August 28 2004 - 03:52 PM

Be hardcore and get the 13" Gateway LCD TV from Best Buy for $300 and have it in your equiptment rack dedicated to OSD controls Posted Image Posted Image

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Robert James Clark

Robert James Clark

    Second Unit



  • 352 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 25 2001

Posted August 30 2004 - 06:07 PM

I actually have a little 4" LCD monitor mounted on my table for onscreen display and DVD-audio discs. It's pretty handy and was about $60 at compgeeks... Posted Image