What's new

sheetrocking curved ceiling question (1 Viewer)

Eddie L

Stunt Coordinator
ceiling width app. 10'
ceiling length app. 12'
curve not that drastic (7.5" at midline), I almost considered using 1/2" rock but am going with 2 layers of 1/4"
could only get 8'lengths
12' not available
question is.....best putting up the widthwise or lengthwise?
I'm thinking it will curve easier by going the width
I have plenty of bracing to go either direction, so that's not an issue
thanks for any input
Ed

Jim_Ski

Agent
I think it's typical to run the sheets long along the long wall, but I'm not an expert.

Remember to stagger your seams when doing two-ply, and to have longer screws for that second layer.

-jim

Dan_Morez

Agent
I used 1/2" drywall on my front soffit, which is radius'd out appr. 7" on center.....the drywall wrapped around very easily, and I ran it length wise from a cut down 12 foot sheet....I have pics posted if that'll help explain better. Good luck and let us know how it goes!

Colin Goddard

Stunt Coordinator
I would go lenghtwise. Just a little hint. Say for example your soffit is 12 inches. When making rips on a new sheet of drywall,make as many "cuts" as you can on one side of the sheet, before you "snap" the drywall to cut the opposite side of the sheet. Also, sometime's you will get "rough edges" on the drywall that you just cut. These can easily be cleaned up by using a small hand held wood rasp. The rasp is about 5" long and can be found at any home depot or lowes for 4 or 5 bucks.

And if you didn't already know, use vinyl radius bead for a curved soffit. I like using a spray adhesive called Trimtex for installing this bead. Just spray the back of the corner bead and the edge of the drywall soffit, wait a few minutes and then apply the bead. No fasteners needed.

Cheers,
Colin

DelRay

Stunt Coordinator