Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

FireWire for SACD and DVD Audio


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   eryn shannon

eryn shannon

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 62 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 2004

Posted July 31 2004 - 02:37 PM

Do I need a special firewire cable to connect my Elite DV-47Ai to an i-link equiped reciever or just an ordinary fire wire cable that I would use to connect my digital camcorder to my computer?

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   John Kotches

John Kotches

    Screenwriter



  • 2,636 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2000

Posted August 01 2004 - 02:04 AM

As long as the cable is 4-pin to 4-pin any cable will do the job Posted Image

Cheers,
Surround Music Enthusiast / Curmudgeon in Training
Opinions are my own, not representative of the publication I write for.

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley

    Screenwriter



  • 2,701 posts
  • Join Date: May 25 2003
  • Real Name:Ed
  • LocationEastern NC

Posted August 01 2004 - 02:20 AM

I think it also HAS to be the same brand receiver, as the player.
These digital signal sacd and dvd-a systems, are very proprietary right now. Hopefully that will change soon.......... Posted Image
Samsung HL61A750 (LED DLP)            Onkyo TX-SR805
Oppo BDP-83 Blu ray                                  Polk Audio LSi9
Polk Audio LSiC                                  Sony SS-MB100H
SVS PC12-NSD (Sub)                       ...

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   John Kotches

John Kotches

    Screenwriter



  • 2,636 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2000

Posted August 01 2004 - 02:03 PM

Ed, No they don't. I've interoperated with Pioneer players and Yamaha receivers successfully. i-Link is a published standard, and if you don't adhere to the A&M specifications it is my understanding that you cannot call it i-Link. Cheers,
Surround Music Enthusiast / Curmudgeon in Training
Opinions are my own, not representative of the publication I write for.

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   John Wes

John Wes

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 202 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2002

Posted August 01 2004 - 02:37 PM

You won't be able to use a Denon, but John already covered the Yammi's...

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   John Kotches

John Kotches

    Screenwriter



  • 2,636 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2000

Posted August 01 2004 - 04:44 PM

John, According to Jeff Talmadge, you have to configure the Firewire output appropriately and then the firewire ports will interoperate. I have no personal experience with this, so I cannot comment. Cheers,
Surround Music Enthusiast / Curmudgeon in Training
Opinions are my own, not representative of the publication I write for.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users