-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

cutting sonotube caps


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

#1 of 14 OFFLINE   Eric Schriver

Eric Schriver

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 29 2004

Posted July 29 2004 - 11:21 AM

Hey everyone,

I've been lurking on this forum for some time now, but I've reached somewhat of a problem. I've purchased my MDF, drivers, and sonotube, but for the life of me I can't cut my end caps. I attempted using a Craftsman router with a Bosch bit. The problem is I got about 1/4 of the way around my 20" diameter cap and the bit was dull and would no longer cut. I know the answer is probably simple, but I must be missing it and only have a limited time to complete this before going back to college. How did you guys cut your caps? Thanks.

#2 of 14 OFFLINE   ThomasW

ThomasW

    Screenwriter

  • 2,282 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 06 1999

Posted July 29 2004 - 11:41 AM

Oldham Viper 1/4", solid carbide, spiral cut, up-twist bits.

$17 or so at evil orange

#3 of 14 OFFLINE   Kyle Richardson

Kyle Richardson

    Screenwriter

  • 1,076 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 1998

Posted July 29 2004 - 11:50 AM

Yep, make sure you are using carbide and take it slow; you should probably do about 2-3 passes in order to cut through the 3/4" MDF. If you try to cut all at once it puts too much stress on the bit and router causing premature failure.
Kyle Richardson
Acoustic Visions

AOL Instant Messenger Name: kyler70
MSN IM: acousticvisions@hotmail.com

#4 of 14 OFFLINE   Allen Ross

Allen Ross

    Supporting Actor

  • 819 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2002

Posted July 29 2004 - 01:22 PM

i prefer Whiteside bits, haven't had a problem with the 5 or so that i own.
Member and Founder of the "Its Never to Big or too Loud to have in a Dorm Club"
Everyone in college should have a 9 cuft Tempest in their closest!

#5 of 14 OFFLINE   Frank Carter

Frank Carter

    Screenwriter

  • 1,188 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 12 2002

Posted July 29 2004 - 01:40 PM

I use a Whiteside sprial upcut bit I got from www.woodcraft.com. Also make sure to obey Kyle's suggestion of taking a few for going through the MDF, I usually take 3 passes.

#6 of 14 OFFLINE   RodN

RodN

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 58 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 2004

Posted July 29 2004 - 11:21 PM

Cut around using a jigsaw first, leaving about 5mm (1/4") for the router to take off. Makes things MUCH easier for the router.

#7 of 14 OFFLINE   Ronnie Ferrell

Ronnie Ferrell

    Second Unit

  • 355 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 16 2002

Posted July 30 2004 - 01:30 AM

I'm happy with Whiteside as well. There are a lot of good router bits out there but Whiteside has given me the best bang for my buck. They are not the cheapest but are usually the cheapest of the high quality bits. Woodcraft has them but they charge too much for them. I get them from www.routerbits.com.

If you do go with whiteside, the spiral bit you need to order is: RU2100. At routerbits.com it is $14.60. Woodcrafts part number is: 03K33 for the same bit, and they want $21.99 for it.

Another good one is CMT. I like CMT better than Whiteside but they are usually out of my price range on most of their bits. The CMT 1/4" spiral bit is not that bad of price. The CMT bit you would need is model: 191.008.11 and you can get it from sommerfeld tools: http://www.sommerfel...ducts.asp?id=78 for $16.90


Ronnie
[c]
Meet our new boy, Mousse![/c]

#8 of 14 OFFLINE   Eric Schriver

Eric Schriver

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 29 2004

Posted July 30 2004 - 03:20 AM

Alright I think I got this down. I have a bandsaw at my disposal that I'll use for the outside cut... Thanks all for the help... If anyone else has anymore pointers keep them coming.

#9 of 14 OFFLINE   Jeremy Stockwell

Jeremy Stockwell

    Supporting Actor

  • 608 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 09 2001

Posted July 30 2004 - 03:51 AM

Eric,

Getting the bulk of the MDF cut away using a jigsaw (like RodN said) is an excellent suggestion. I didn't have a router, so I made just about all of my cuts using a jigsaw and then finished off the endcaps/plugs with a RotoZip spiral saw. Worked fine for me.

JKS
You brought two too many.

#10 of 14 OFFLINE   TimForman

TimForman

    Supporting Actor

  • 847 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2002

Posted July 31 2004 - 11:53 AM

Try to use router bits with a 1/2" shaft. Much less vibration. The skinny shafts don't hold up nearly as well.

#11 of 14 OFFLINE   Eric Schriver

Eric Schriver

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 29 2004

Posted July 31 2004 - 05:23 PM

I would use a 1/2" shaft if I could but the collet on my router is only a 1/4". One bit if properly used should get the job done though, correct?

#12 of 14 OFFLINE   Jon Torres

Jon Torres

    Second Unit

  • 288 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 30 2001

Posted July 31 2004 - 05:50 PM

The Oldham Viper bits at Home Depot have a lifetime warranty, so if it dulls on you, return it for a new one.

#13 of 14 OFFLINE   TimForman

TimForman

    Supporting Actor

  • 847 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2002

Posted August 01 2004 - 02:07 AM

I made several speakers before my 1/4" shaft bit broke. Like others have said, take your time.

#14 of 14 OFFLINE   ThomasW

ThomasW

    Screenwriter

  • 2,282 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 06 1999

Posted August 01 2004 - 02:54 AM

I use a single Oldham bit to built 4 tube subs. That included cutting 1.5" thick bottom plates, in addition to the endcaps