What's new

Woe is me, new to the world of projector warranties! (1 Viewer)

David K.

Second Unit
Im looking into purchasing the infocus 4805, there are some things that stand in the way..

1. I'm a part time worker making a little above minimum wage.

2. I'm a poor college student with a fascination in expensive home theater.

3. I have a credit card with limited funds.

now my predicament, I am looking for good prices for the 4805.

TV authority has a great sale, ie $1399, BUT i live in california, so i get taxed 8.25% and charged for shipping, final costs far exceeds the land of $1500 and enters the unreachable $1600 price:frowning:

next!

crutchfield, no tax, free shipping.. but full msrp.. hrm.. interesting. $1500.. is it worth maxing out my card for one purchase?

moving on

avcountry, looks good, says i need to call for pricing over the phone, I call them up a couple of times, a lady picks up right away, as if it were a home phone, I ask for the pricing of the 4805... i get switched over to some other persons voicemail saying i have to leave my info and wait for him to call me back.. hrm.. i feel uncomfortable with this unproffesional experience. "click"... call back again a few days later, maybe better luck this time...a man answers and tells me that guy with the price isnt there, and to leave a number for him to call me back.. This time the call scares me out of buying anything from them. Sounds too shadey to me..

next...

the wonderful world of EBAY!!!! i find it for $1400 shipped! best price ive seen.. the auction says full factory warranty... I look at it and send an email to the seller asking how the heck is it fully covered unless he was an authorized vendor... im still waiting for a reply.
This is the best price ive found the unit for, Its either this ebay guy or Crutchfield for $100 more. I assume crutchfield is definately an authrorized vendor.. but using them will max out my credit, which scares me..