What's new

Basic reveiver or amps and such? (1 Viewer)

Im not exactly knowledgable when it comes to pre-amps and amps and stuff, and was wondering if i want a dedicated HT if I should go with a regular receiver or the serperate items. I was thinking of going with Pioneer VSX-59TXi or the Denon AVR-5803. Any other suggestions would be very helpful, as Im not a professional at this, and also dont want to make a big mistake buying a bad reveiver.

Thanks,
Peter Keeling

Owen Bartley

Second Unit
Peter, I guess it depends on a few things. I'll start off, and I'm sure people will add.

1) Depends on the rest of your gear. Seperates can sound great, but may not make a big difference when paired with average speakers, etc.

2) Receivers can sound great too, and there are some pretty high end ones that can get you started in the hobby, and as time (and money) go by, you can use it as a pre/pro and add power amps, then eventually replace it with a new dedicated pre/pro.

3) Budget is a big factor here. You can get a pretty good entry level receiver for a lot cheaper than starting out with seperates. Just make sure it has pre-outs for all the 7.1 channels and you can always upgrade (as in #2) I see you're looking at some high end receivers, which yuo shuold be very happy with unless you are a super critical listener.

4) I guess the main thing people say about seperates is that they have improved clarity, dynamics, and imaging. The rest of your equipment, and your HT room itself might have a lot of influence on these too, and might be worth looking into improving first.

Off the top of my head, thats all I can think of right now. Hope it helped a bit.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I would hardly call the 5803a or 59TXi "basic", and in their price category, I think you will be hard pressed to find a bad receiver.