Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

DOOM III: Gold news & Half Life 2 min req.


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
129 replies to this topic

#1 of 130 OFFLINE   Scott L

Scott L

    Producer



  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted July 14 2004 - 09:35 AM

Doom III:
http://ve3d.ign.com/#530210 Hurry up!

#2 of 130 OFFLINE   Rob Speicher

Rob Speicher

    Supporting Actor



  • 935 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 24 2000

Posted July 14 2004 - 10:03 AM

PC Gamer reviewed Doom 3 this month. 94%

#3 of 130 OFFLINE   James T

James T

    Screenwriter



  • 1,643 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 08 1999

Posted July 14 2004 - 02:15 PM

What's the min requirements for Doom? Half Life 2 needing a 2.4(and you know that that's the real min requirements when that's what Valve will play at). That's crazy. Well, at the very least, I have the bare min.

#4 of 130 OFFLINE   Scott L

Scott L

    Producer



  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted July 14 2004 - 02:50 PM

Got this from avs regarding D3:


#5 of 130 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor



  • 8,284 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted July 14 2004 - 03:03 PM

Crap! I only have a Radeon 9200. Oh well, I might as well just wait for the X-Box version.

#6 of 130 OFFLINE   Shawn C

Shawn C

    Screenwriter



  • 1,434 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 2001

Posted July 14 2004 - 05:39 PM

Ugh, and I was just getting into UT2004. Oh well, I *know* when Doom 3 comes out, I will be hooked. Hey, will Doom 3 require 5 FREAKING CD's to install like UT?! WTF?

#7 of 130 OFFLINE   DarrenHo

DarrenHo

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 127 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 20 2004

Posted July 14 2004 - 07:51 PM

i hear it will be a 4 cd game. no dvd either.

#8 of 130 OFFLINE   James T

James T

    Screenwriter



  • 1,643 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 08 1999

Posted July 14 2004 - 10:00 PM

That's what I'm considering as well. I don't exactly have a beast for a PC, but it's good enough for most games that come out(P4 1.7 512MB Ti4200 8x), but I may just wait for the consoles, even if it means missing out on some of the mods.

#9 of 130 OFFLINE   Jay Mitchosky

Jay Mitchosky

    Producer



  • 3,740 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 1998

Posted July 15 2004 - 01:05 AM


Posted Image

Uhm. Ohhh kayyyy. That makes complete sense.

Glad to see this game is finally being released. I was thinking how cool it would be to have the original game available on the disc as an unlockable.
"The computer had attained consciousness, only to reject it, claiming it was too unstable an operating system."

#10 of 130 OFFLINE   Michael Pakula

Michael Pakula

    Second Unit



  • 393 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 1999

Posted July 15 2004 - 06:06 AM

I will be getting the PC version since it's a milestone in video game history even though my computer can't handle it. The XBOX version also has a exclusive online co-op mode so thats one more reason to get it too. The XBOX version will be coming out on October 4. -Mike

#11 of 130 OFFLINE   Jason Harbaugh

Jason Harbaugh

    Screenwriter



  • 2,968 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2001

Posted July 15 2004 - 07:17 AM

Where did you get the Oct 4th date for the Xbox version? All I've been reading is that they still have some major stuff to do on it and they can't say if it will even come out this year. This was from the CNN interview with id CEO Todd Hollenshead this week announcing that the PC version went Gold.

#12 of 130 OFFLINE   Paul Bartlet

Paul Bartlet

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 88 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 2000

Posted July 15 2004 - 05:45 PM

I'm so surprised/shocked to hear this from people. I consider myself a Quake junkie. But it's not Vanilla Quake I'm addicted to (meaning, the version released by 'id'), it's the mods. id software time and time again releases a great engine along with excellent Network code. Mod makers always seem to make the most fun games outa there work. Way to mods to mention, but I've yet to finish either quake 1 or 2 (I finished q3 one night when dsl was down). I remember getting home with them, launching 1st map, setting my settings, and on-line only after that. Today, I'm currently playing Enemy Territory, which fits the criteria of a "mod". It's made by a group, it's free, it uses Quake engine. I'm not trying to bash the Xbox version, but if you have a choice, why wouldn't you choose PC. The Xbox version will have co-op play where pc does not. But thats all it will ever be. There will be Doom3 mods coming out at various times over the next 1,2,3... years. You won't be playing any of them on Xbox.
"When I left you, I was but the learner; now I am the Master."

#13 of 130 OFFLINE   Sean Moon

Sean Moon

    Screenwriter



  • 2,045 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 25 2001

Posted July 15 2004 - 07:30 PM

Mods are one area where a PC will always KILL the console versions. I am surprised with the HD on an XBOX that game makers have not allowed modding of games. Imagine how cool it would be on the XBOX version of Doom to make your own maps on a PC then port them to your box? or skins, etc? Just drooling thinking about Halo 2 with user created maps and add ons. Drool.....drool...
http://doctordoom.blogspot.com

We must stand in awe of the infinite capacity of the human mind to reject the introduction of useful knowledge.

#14 of 130 OFFLINE   Chris Bardon

Chris Bardon

    Screenwriter



  • 2,071 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2000

Posted July 16 2004 - 01:33 AM

I'm with Morgan-I'm waiting for the Xbox version. Still holding steady with my p4 1.6 (clocked to 2.1) and my radeon 7500. Given that I don't really play PC games anymore (the last one was Morrowind), I don't really see myself upgrading for Doom3. I spent enough on all of the consoles-I can't afford to keep my PC at the bleeding edge too...
XBox Live Gamertag:ChrisBardon

#15 of 130 OFFLINE   Dave Miller

Dave Miller

    Supporting Actor



  • 854 posts
  • Join Date: May 09 1999

Posted July 16 2004 - 05:29 AM



Because my PC is not hooked up to my 65 inch HD television. Posted Image

Here's a hands on review of the X-box version of Doom 3 from E3.

Peace,

DM
"We all end up dead, the question is how and why."

#16 of 130 OFFLINE   Jason Harbaugh

Jason Harbaugh

    Screenwriter



  • 2,968 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 30 2001

Posted July 16 2004 - 07:46 AM

From what I saw at E3 the lower resolution for the Xbox version shows. That could change as they finish it but there's only so much you can do. The sound will probably be the best advantage the Xbox version has over the PC version. And from all those early reviews, the sound is incredibly engrossing. Playing in a darkened livingroom with a nice HT setup sounds (no pun intended) pretty good to me. But I gotta get the PC version, love that high res.

#17 of 130 OFFLINE   DaveGTP

DaveGTP

    Screenwriter



  • 2,096 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2002

Posted July 16 2004 - 08:40 AM

All you have to do is drag your PC out to the living room and get it to run on your HT setup.
Since my Infocus X1 is 800x600 native, I guess that's a little easier for me than most people Posted Image


I haven't played a PC game in ages beyond Baldur's Gate II (and recently C&C Generals). And I only really play FPS much as multiplayer - I agree with the comment above about installing the game and almost never playing it single player. But the single player looks like it would be worth playing once Posted Image



Still, I don't have anywhere near the hardware necessary to play this (Athlon 1800+, Radeon 8500). I'm hoping to do an upgrade later this year to catch up (it's been a few years, after all).

I'm not in too much of a hurry for an upgrade, since I'm really waiting for the multiplayer mods!
Matheson- "There are probably some who'll say that by doing this, we are interfering with their culture."

Gideon - "Probably. Screw them."
-Crusade, Visitors from Down the Street

#18 of 130 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor



  • 8,284 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted July 16 2004 - 03:24 PM

Not to be rude, but seeing as how this is a videoGAME, one would hope that it's more than just a lot of really pretty graphics. That said, the lower resolution on the X-Box shouldn't be that big of a deal if the game is still fun to play.

#19 of 130 OFFLINE   Matt Stone

Matt Stone

    Lead Actor



  • 9,070 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 21 2000

Posted July 16 2004 - 08:43 PM

I need to upgrade anyway, but I'm dirt poor right now. I'm currently running an Athlon 1900xp w/1GB of PC2700 Corsair and a Radeon 9700pro. I'm sure that will be enough to eek something out at 800x600 (or if I'm desperate for more FPS 640x480). Either way, I'll see how it runs and then worry about upgrading. I keep reading all the wackies over at Anandtech that are about to spend $500 on an upgrade for a $50 game before they play it. I think I'll see if I like the game first Posted Image
In Heaven, everything is fine.
[ 2006 Films | 2005 Films | 2004 Films | 2003 Films | YMDB Top 20 ]
[ Star Wars | Sideshow | HT | DVDs | LDs | AIM: Maulrat87 ]

#20 of 130 OFFLINE   Scott_lb

Scott_lb

    Supporting Actor



  • 592 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 07 2002

Posted July 17 2004 - 09:28 AM

I'm not sure which version of Doom III to get - Xbox or PC. I have a Dell laptop with a 2.2 Pentium 4, 512 RAM, and an Nvidia 64MB video card. I am able to play "Far Cry" on the low resoultion settings and it looks pretty good(which I perceive as being roughly Xbox quality). I'm not sure which version will look and run better, given my system specs. I do have my Xbox hooked up to a great 5.1 surround system, however, I have no interest in the multiplayer aspect of the game. Your thoughts?
"My name is El Nino which in spanish means.... The Nino!" - Chris Farley




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users