-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

OK.......girlfriend thread......


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
97 replies to this topic

#1 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 19 2004 - 02:28 PM

I got my new HK7200....working great, but still VERY NEW
to it.

I had the big screen pulled out while setting things up &
was still tweaking stuff.
I mention to my GF that I eill be able to put it back soon.

I go to the dentist, come back & she had shoved tv back
to normal spot.....now no sound at all through receiver.
Still worksd through big screen, but just flashes
L & R on the speaker selector......


I want to cry..............


What do I do.

#2 of 98 Robb Roy

Robb Roy

    Supporting Actor

  • 711 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 15 2002

Posted June 19 2004 - 02:43 PM

Cam,

It sounds to me like she pulled off some connection(s) when moving the TV back into place. I think you gotta' pull the TV back out and see what wires are underneath it, and not plugged into the receiver.

-Robb

#3 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 19 2004 - 02:59 PM

Hey Robb......before i posted, I pulled the tv back out & checked everything....I get sound from DVD to TV, but not
DVD to receiver.....heck, not counting spreakers, there are only 4 wires plugged into the receiver & only one comes
from the DVD player. Posted Image

#4 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:01 PM

just getting the thing to play normally was giving me
fits........stupid is as stupid does

#5 of 98 Robb Roy

Robb Roy

    Supporting Actor

  • 711 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 15 2002

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:05 PM

Cam,

If it's a toslink cable you still may want to check that it hasn't come loose. After that, run through the settings on the receiver again. I'm sure it's something simple. Receivers definitely top the list of overly complicated pieces of gear.

-Robb

#6 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:08 PM

whatever toslink is.....lol

I have been trying to run through settings , but still cant
get anything out of it....I'll keep trying.


I need to find a Houston local that can show me how to work
this darn thing......Posted Image

#7 of 98 StephenHa

StephenHa

    Second Unit

  • 364 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 28 2003

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:11 PM

toslink is the optical cable

#8 of 98 Robb Roy

Robb Roy

    Supporting Actor

  • 711 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 15 2002

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:12 PM

Cam,

StephenHa must've been in at the same time. See above.

-Robb

#9 of 98 Jon_Welker

Jon_Welker

    Second Unit

  • 404 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2003

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:18 PM

Cam,

I think we are all overlooking the fundamental problem here. And that is making sure the GF keeps her mits off your gear!
DJ_JonnyV

#10 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:26 PM

Quote:
I think we are all overlooking the fundamental problem here. And that is making sure the GF keeps her mits off your gear!



LMFAO!!

Yeah, I was calm as possible when I tried to tell her
that................
..............
................
............
...........

For about the 82nd time!!!


Worst part is that I will finish my DIY Tempest sub
tomorrow most likely &, well, its gonna kinda be hard to try out with current sitiuation.

Anyway, been working on it all day & I'm beat, so I'm gonna
watch a DVD..........no wait, I cant......Posted Image

I'm going to sleep, tomorrow is another day & I will try
rewiring everything (oh joy).

Thanks for everything guys...as always!!

#11 of 98 Aaron Gould

Aaron Gould

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 184 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2002
  • Real Name:Aaron Gould
  • LocationLondon, Ontario, Canada

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:27 PM

Jon_Welker: You got it. When I met my last girlfriend, one of the first things she learned was not to touch my gear. And now that she's my wife, she still doesn't go near it. Posted Image

#12 of 98 John Robert

John Robert

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 193 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 06 2003

Posted June 19 2004 - 03:39 PM

Cam:

I had a similar situation in a much more complicated set-up (7.1, 2 subs, separate SACD and DVD-A players, etc.) and I finally ended up taking the whole thing apart and setting it up like I was putting it together for the first time. This helped me isolate an intermittently bad cable Posted Image ...

You might want to try the same thing.

John

#13 of 98 Adil M

Adil M

    Supporting Actor

  • 922 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 21 2001

Posted June 19 2004 - 04:09 PM

You should make sure your DVD input is set to the correct toslink connection on the back. W/ HK (by old memory)
1. Press Dig Select and cycle through until you get sound, Tos 1 or Fiber optic 1,2,3,4)
2. Check the menu of your dvd player and make sure it has digital output on.
3. It might be a messed up wire, but if you are getting video and sound from the dvd player through the tv then the issue is the connection from the DVD to the Receiver.

Good luck and keep us informed.

#14 of 98 Shiu

Shiu

    Second Unit

  • 447 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2003

Posted June 20 2004 - 02:25 AM

It doesn't sound like you GF has anything to do with this. I think Adil has a point; you may have selected/or assigned the wrong input inadvertently while tweaking it. Do what Adil suggested first, if that's not it, try another optical cable. That AVR7200 is a real monster; so many things to play with and so powerful, make sure you keep it well ventilated though, congratulations!

#15 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 20 2004 - 03:04 AM

Guys....thanks for all the advice, & I am about to get back at it again, but one thing.

I just got the 7200 & hooked it up Wednesday thanks to help from ya'll & everything was working fine (dang these things are childproof, lmao).

She moved the tv back & now I get no sound from the DVD through the receiver.

So, it WAS working prior to being moved.

There are only 4 cables into the 7200 not counting
speaker wires. Everything is tight, so I am going to go buy a new optical cable as that is the only link from DVD to receiver.

It just keeps flashin "L" "R" speakers on the front display.
I might just not know how to work the thing, but I had turned it on & off several times looking at scenes from
multiple DVD's.


Please keep suggestions coming.......Posted Image

#16 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 20 2004 - 03:19 AM

OK guys.....I hooked the optical up to my old receiver &
headphones.......worked great.....Posted Image

So, something got screwed up on my set-up.


How do I get the 5 speaker set-up (as opposed to just L/R) to light up on my
front control panel of the 7200.....





anybody.......????

I get no sound out of headphones or any speakers.

#17 of 98 StephenHa

StephenHa

    Second Unit

  • 364 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 28 2003

Posted June 20 2004 - 03:30 AM

flashing l & r, could the speakers button be pressed? sounds like it's trying to say something there

#18 of 98 Cam McFarland

Cam McFarland

    Supporting Actor

  • 698 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2004

Posted June 20 2004 - 03:54 AM

I quess it is trying to say something...maybe....
"Cam....You're an idiot"....lmao

Only heard a few "pops" cycling through when it hit
"analog" signal.


I guess I call somebody Monday to turn on my
stereo.......I feel like such a dumbass.


Anybody here in Houston wanna make a housecall?? Posted Image

#19 of 98 Robb Roy

Robb Roy

    Supporting Actor

  • 711 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 15 2002

Posted June 20 2004 - 05:21 AM

Cam,

I looked up the manual for that unit, and the troubleshooting guide lists "Letters flash in the channel indicator display and digital audio stops" as one of the problems. The solution is to check that the digital input is selected and/or "Resume play for DVD". Double check the digital in assignments in the setup screens, and the settings in the DVD player itself.

HTH

-Robb

#20 of 98 Ivan P

Ivan P

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 62 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 04 2004

Posted June 20 2004 - 05:56 AM

In addition what Robb Roy said, check if the optical cable is not bad, after putting the TV back that u didn't break the fiber optic, get another cable or just check if you can see light from the receiver side of the cable