What's new

Bose or klipsch setup? noob here. (1 Viewer)

Pete Bishop

Agent
I know bose is the most expensive, but is it really worth the cash. I have a $500 gift certificate for best buy. They have a setup for $1380 that has a Yamaha 5750 and a Klipsch setup that includes 2 SF-2 floor speakers, the sc-1 center, and the ss-1 surrounds plus the 12" sub. Or I can get the bose AM 10 package and the yamaha 5760 for about $100 dollars more. What would you buy?

These are the 2 best speaker brands I can pick from if I want to use the Best Buy gift card

Jimi C

Screenwriter
Bose probably isnt worth the extra $100, unless you like them more. Personally i think Athena is the best speaker that Best Buy has.

btw.. do a quick search on Bose and read some of the threads. You will probably be surpirsed by what you find out.

Dennis Gardner

Stunt Coordinator
Bose is usually considered overpriced. Klipsch, Athena, and JBL are brands BB carries and they all make a solid lineup and I would choose from any of them before I bought Bose. They make it hard to compare Bose since most or their setups are seperate from their sound rooms. Visit a number of BB stores in your area to get a variety if you can, ask for different recievers with different speakers.

Most importantly, any setup in the store will sound different when you get it home and you may need a return guarantee to get what you want.

Good luck in your hunt and welcome to the forum!

DG

Pete Bishop

Agent
I didn't check out Athena. Never heard of them. I'm kinda hesitant to buy a product I have never heard of before, but at the same time I'm trying to keep an open mind. What makes Athena a better pick than the Klipsch? Also, is Klipsch on the same playing level as Polk Audio? I originally wanted to buy Polk, but considering the gift card I can't really do that.

Dennis Gardner

Stunt Coordinator
Athena, Klipsch, JBL models carried at BB are all mid level and would compare to the Polk Audio that you mention.