Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Anthem D1/AVM20/AVM30


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
92 replies to this topic

#1 of 93 OFFLINE   Brian Fitterman

Brian Fitterman

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 243 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 26 2002

Posted June 09 2004 - 01:04 PM

Well I guess I will start it. I allready posted this on AVS, but we all know where the real home of the AVM-XX is!!

I sold my AVM-20 thinking that I would get a D1, but I balked at it. Just too much money and I can mod the 30 later. (after reading the AVM20 vs D1 thread).

The Blue is a definate improvement. The 4 component inputs are great as well. The switching of inputs is very fast. It does have PLIIx on it and came with an insert that stated:

"Dolby Pro Logic IIx is not available with the inital release of the AVM 30. It will be available as an easy on-line software upgrade on our website in the near future, at no charge. We will notify all Anthem Dealers when Pro Logic IIx becomes available."

As for sound, I have not really listened to it yet so I cannot comment.

I got a good deal on the AVM-30 so it was not that much to change to the AVM-30 so I am pretty happy with the move. Now to wait for the mod.

Then I noticed something. The N is missing from the word MAIN. It looks like the right most col is missing from both lines.

So I went into the display menu and checked my settings. This is where it gets interesting...

According to the manual, there should be selections a-m. I am missing i,j, and k. The setting for the Hi, med, and low number settings. And the best part, if I try to scoll down after the last setting, it should go back to the top...it does not...all I get is alot of noise and clicking and poping from the speakers and the display shows garbage and then it shuts off. If I power it on via the power button, it comes on, but does not work right. If I shut it off via the back (real power off) and then turn it back on, it resets itself. Also I changed the setting front wake up to HI and it seems to fixed the front display issue. I guess a call to Nick and Frank is due tomorrow.

I will keep everyone up to date on if this is a software glitch or not.

BTW, the software does say version 2.13 (not letter following it).
My Home Theater - Anthem AVM-30, Krell KAV-2250, Von Schweikert VR4 GenIII SE, Mits HDTV, Pioneer 59avi...

#2 of 93 OFFLINE   Levesque

Levesque

    Supporting Actor



  • 587 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2002

Posted June 09 2004 - 02:05 PM

Good idea. Should receive my D1 tomorrow.

Hope you will post your impressions of the AVM30 soon. Posted Image

#3 of 93 OFFLINE   Evan S

Evan S

    Screenwriter



  • 2,211 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 21 2001

Posted June 09 2004 - 02:08 PM

Brian, so when can I come over to drool and feel jealous?

Just kidding, I am a "if it ain't broke don't fix it" type of guy and right now, I am totally content.

But I wasn't kidding about the visit. I think I actually would be a little jealous of the blue, as it would match my Odyssey Stratos lighting.

searching for that elusive, "perfect" sound.

#4 of 93 OFFLINE   Brian Fitterman

Brian Fitterman

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 243 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 26 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 12:12 AM

Quote:
But I wasn't kidding about the visit. I think I actually would be a little jealous of the blue, as it would match my Odyssey Stratos lighting.


No problem. Once I figure out what the heck is going on with that menu, you are more than welcome to come over...you have to hear the new Von Schweikerts as well.

The blue matches my Krell amp as well Posted Image

The blue really is a big improvment over the old display. At the NY show, the Anthem rep said something about the technology is different, not just the color. LED vs something else I think. Much much easier to read now.
My Home Theater - Anthem AVM-30, Krell KAV-2250, Von Schweikert VR4 GenIII SE, Mits HDTV, Pioneer 59avi...

#5 of 93 OFFLINE   chung_sotheby

chung_sotheby

    Supporting Actor



  • 858 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 01:42 AM

I've never even HEARD that Anthem was coming out with an AVM-30. If anyone could post a link that describes the differences between the AVM-30 and AVM-20, or could post the differences themselves, I would greatly appreciate it.

Brian,
Good luck on the comparison, and I really like your setup. The blue LED sounds pretty cool

#6 of 93 OFFLINE   Levesque

Levesque

    Supporting Actor



  • 587 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 03:12 AM

You should see my D1 with the matching LED and faceplate of my P5... Posted Image

BTW, I told everyone 1 month ago that the AVM30 was coming...

#7 of 93 OFFLINE   Miguel Stanic

Miguel Stanic

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 183 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 1998

Posted June 10 2004 - 03:13 AM

Is Chris Johnson, I believe that's his name, still the guy who is going to provide mod's for the AVM30? If so, what do you think will be mod'd? Isn't the D1 already a mod'd AVM30 seeing as, in specs/theory, it already has better components? Why would you not go with a D1 if you're just buying an AVM30 to mod it ASAP. Won't mod'ing an AVM30 push it to a higher price than the D1 would have cost?

Does anybody know, part by part, EXACTLY what's in a mod'd AVM20 compared to an AVM30 compared to a D1?

These are just questions and I totally respect people's decisions to choose and buy whatever they want.

#8 of 93 OFFLINE   Levesque

Levesque

    Supporting Actor



  • 587 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 03:18 AM

Chris Johnson did only mod 30 or 40 AVM20. Not thousands. People talk about this like you could find a modded AVM20 AVM30 in any dealer shop... But it's not.

And it's voiding the warranty...

So it's not for everyone. And Anthem will probably add some DSPs or other hardware upgrades to the AVM30 later, but they WON'T do it if you did mod your unit.

So modding the AVM30 will be possible only near the end of it's life-cycle, or your taking a big risk of not having any future DSP or board upgrades...

#9 of 93 OFFLINE   Brian Fitterman

Brian Fitterman

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 243 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 26 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 04:14 AM

Well I heard back from Nick...I am running 2.13, but that is for the AVM20. They do NOT run the same code. The display is a different technology so some things do not exist in its menu system. That is why it went funky on my. They shipped me version 1.01 and I will install tonight.
My Home Theater - Anthem AVM-30, Krell KAV-2250, Von Schweikert VR4 GenIII SE, Mits HDTV, Pioneer 59avi...

#10 of 93 OFFLINE   Miguel Stanic

Miguel Stanic

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 183 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 1998

Posted June 10 2004 - 04:22 AM

How did Anthem let an AVM30 ship with AVM20 software? I hope, with the current high demand for these new PREAMPS, that Anthem is not letting quality control slip.

On the question side, does the AVM30 and/or D1 allow for one component connection that converts S-VIDEO or COMPOSITE to component? Doesn't the Yamaha Z9 do this?

Is Yamaha's video conversion, since it uses Faroudja, superior to the one incorporated by the AVM30 and D1. Do the AVM30 and D1 use the same video conversion method?

Levesque.....did u get your D1 yet? You must be at home eagerly anticipating it's arrival...can't blame you. Good Luck and happy listening....let us know as soon as you can about what you thinkPosted Image

#11 of 93 OFFLINE   Levesque

Levesque

    Supporting Actor



  • 587 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 05:05 AM

Miguel Stanic.

Yes. I got my D1 this morning!

But I will set-up everything tomorrow only. I will post some photos of the D1 with the P5 in my rack. Posted Image

#12 of 93 OFFLINE   Levesque

Levesque

    Supporting Actor



  • 587 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 12:25 PM

Front pic of my new D1 while performing the firmware update from v1.00 to v1.02.

http://www.photo.net....434428&size=lg

#13 of 93 OFFLINE   Brian Fitterman

Brian Fitterman

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 243 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 26 2002

Posted June 10 2004 - 12:54 PM

Quote:
How did Anthem let an AVM30 ship with AVM20 software? I hope, with the current high demand for these new PREAMPS, that Anthem is not letting quality control slip.

They are basically the same model, so the software worked, for the most part. I think he said they were using for the test burn ins. I have no idea, and niether did Nick, on how many got out this way. Hopefully me finding this quickly can keep it contained.

Quote:
On the question side, does the AVM30 and/or D1 allow for one component connection that converts S-VIDEO or COMPOSITE to component? Doesn't the Yamaha Z9 do this?

The AVM30 does not. I cannot speak for the D1, but I dont think it does.

Lévesque, you right on target on the Chris Johnson mod. I will be holding off on it. I am still happy with the AVM30, I just did not have cash for the D1 after blowing most of my money on new speakers.
My Home Theater - Anthem AVM-30, Krell KAV-2250, Von Schweikert VR4 GenIII SE, Mits HDTV, Pioneer 59avi...

#14 of 93 OFFLINE   Miguel Stanic

Miguel Stanic

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 183 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 1998

Posted June 10 2004 - 02:41 PM

Levesque......nice shot of your D1. It seems like the rear right foot is missing cause it's slanted a bit in the picture. I'm sure it's not and I'm just teasing nonetheless.

Congrats and let us know how it sounds and operates. I'm drooling......the suspense is killing me. Enjoy your weekend and forget specs.....just listen, listen and listen.

Congrats on your AVM30 also Brian. Let us know how it sounds and operates in comparison to the AVM20.

If feels like Christmas cause everyone is getting new toysPosted Image

#15 of 93 OFFLINE   Mark C.

Mark C.

    Supporting Actor



  • 558 posts
  • Join Date: May 21 1999

Posted June 11 2004 - 01:09 AM

Looks like a Rotel with a lot more itty-bitty buttons.

#16 of 93 OFFLINE   Steve*MH

Steve*MH

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 12 2002

Posted June 11 2004 - 01:18 AM

Lévesque,

Can we get a picture of the D1 sitting on the P5 to see how they match? Or of both of them in a rack? Would like to see a "real" picture of the P5 as well.
Thanks.

#17 of 93 OFFLINE   Levesque

Levesque

    Supporting Actor



  • 587 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2002

Posted June 11 2004 - 01:49 AM

Sure. The D1 and P5 are going in the rack tomorrow evening, so I will take some shots.

That picture of the D1 was taken on the floor, while performing the firmware upgrade.

But the P5 is a beast, so I need a friend to move it. So I will post some shoots tomorrow. Posted Image

Mark C.

''Looks like a Rotel with a lot more itty-bitty buttons. ''

I did own the Rotel RSP-1066 and did try the RSP-1098, and I can assure you, the D1 looks like a Rotel , but it's in a different league sonically...

BTW, I did pay LESS for the D1 then the best price I could find on the RSP-1098 in Canada!!! Posted Image

#18 of 93 OFFLINE   Paul Gere

Paul Gere

    Second Unit



  • 282 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 03 1999

Posted June 11 2004 - 04:04 AM

OK - I'll re-up the question:

Where can we find more info. on the AVM30 and better understand how it differs from the AVM20?

I came up blank on the Sonic Frontiers web site.

Thanks in advance for any insights.

#19 of 93 ONLINE   RobertR

RobertR

    Lead Actor



  • 9,535 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 19 1998

Posted June 11 2004 - 04:10 AM

I too am interested in the AVM30. Pics, information, link to user manual?

#20 of 93 OFFLINE   Levesque

Levesque

    Supporting Actor



  • 587 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2002

Posted June 11 2004 - 05:20 AM

The AVM30 is in a ''soft-launch'' state right now, and specs and infos will show-up on Anthem site only in 30-60 days.

That's what my Anthem rep told me...





Forum Nav Content I Follow