Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Receiver with "Sleep" option?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 of 19 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted June 02 2004 - 12:13 AM

You know, I was thinking about this as I was watching TV with the kids to get them to bed; I could set the TV to "sleep" (power itself off) after 1 hour; but couldn't the receiver. Are their receivers out there with sleep options?
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#2 of 19 OFFLINE   Cagri

Cagri

    Second Unit



  • 415 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 18 2002

Posted June 02 2004 - 12:22 AM

I haven't heard such a feature for a receiver, but I'd say there's nothing wrong to leave the receiver on for the night unless you have specific reasons to worry about.
Too much debt...

#3 of 19 OFFLINE   Nick.S

Nick.S

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 51 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2004

Posted June 02 2004 - 01:27 AM

My Yamha 2400 has a sleep option. And my tv turns off after 5min if there is no video signal and I got my dvd player in the switching outlet on the reciever so it works out great for me! Nick.S

#4 of 19 OFFLINE   Nicholas R

Nicholas R

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 189 posts
  • Join Date: May 04 2004

Posted June 02 2004 - 01:28 AM

The Marantz 6200 has it.

#5 of 19 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted June 02 2004 - 01:35 AM

Well, I have no problem necessarily when leaving it on.. however, if you put it on, and you know everyone is going to go to sleep watching lion king (or whatever) and it's late so you will be included in those that wipe out, it's good to have it turn off rather then wake up in the morning to the incessant menu soundtrack Posted Image
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#6 of 19 OFFLINE   PaulDA

PaulDA

    Screenwriter



  • 2,602 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 2004
  • Real Name:Paul
  • LocationSt. Hubert, Quebec, Canada

Posted June 02 2004 - 01:48 AM

My Integra DTR 6.4 has a sleep function.
Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes time, and it annoys the pig.

#7 of 19 OFFLINE   Claude M

Claude M

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 240 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2001

Posted June 02 2004 - 03:38 AM

Sherwood Newcastle has it.

#8 of 19 OFFLINE   Chris Elm

Chris Elm

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 120 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 30 2003

Posted June 02 2004 - 04:28 AM

Most Onkyo's have it. Just a quick heads up. However, my Elite 45TX, which had a 1400 dollar price tag, doesn't have it. Posted Image

#9 of 19 OFFLINE   BrianWoerndle

BrianWoerndle

    Supporting Actor



  • 794 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 19 2002

Posted June 02 2004 - 04:44 AM

My old JVC receiver had a sleep option. At the time I had all JVC gear connected with Compu-link. So when the sleep timer turned off the receiver everything went off. Very handy. That way if I fell asleep with a CD playing it would not play all night. My Denon 3803 does not have a sleep timer.
The only way to safely double your money is to fold it over once and place it back in your pocket.

http://www.cube17576.com

#10 of 19 OFFLINE   Jeff Hipps

Jeff Hipps

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 194 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 02 1999

Posted June 02 2004 - 08:05 AM

Even the inexpensive Sherwood receivers like the RD-6108 have a sleep timer. They offer 10, 20, 30, 60 and 90 minutes operation before turn-off. Jeff

#11 of 19 OFFLINE   Wayne Ernst

Wayne Ernst

    Screenwriter



  • 2,589 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2002

Posted June 02 2004 - 12:25 PM

I can vouch for the newer Yamahas which have this feature. However, a much cheaper route would be to pick up one of the "smart" power strips for $30. The receiver could be plugged into the "switched" outlet and when the TV powers off, the "switched" outlet would sense this and turn the receiver off, too.
"My reality check ... just bounced"

#12 of 19 OFFLINE   Jed M

Jed M

    Screenwriter



  • 2,030 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2001

Posted June 02 2004 - 01:33 PM

My old Sherwood had it and my Pioneer 912k has it.
Long you live and high you fly
And smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry
And all you touch and all you see
Is all your life will ever be.
-R. Waters

#13 of 19 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted June 02 2004 - 05:17 PM

Wow. More reason to ditch my HK Posted Image
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#14 of 19 OFFLINE   Jeremy Little

Jeremy Little

    Supporting Actor



  • 772 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 09 2001

Posted June 02 2004 - 05:45 PM

My Harmon Kardon AVR-525 does it.
If it wasn't for my horse, I wouldn't have spent that year in college.

#15 of 19 OFFLINE   Greg Thomas

Greg Thomas

    Second Unit



  • 438 posts
  • Join Date: May 03 1999

Posted June 02 2004 - 08:40 PM

My Harman Kardon 325 and Sherwood Newcastle both have it. I use it on the HK at least 4-5 times a week.

#16 of 19 OFFLINE   Baldemar Garcia

Baldemar Garcia

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 141 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999

Posted June 03 2004 - 01:28 AM

My HK 320 has it. Activated through remote. Use it nightly. Posted Image
bgarcia

#17 of 19 OFFLINE   Chris

Chris

    Lead Actor



  • 6,790 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 1997

Posted June 03 2004 - 01:51 AM

Damn. My HK-320 does not (near as I can figure) Hmm. Still, I will hope (look) to see if the Denon 3805/2805 has it, as that's probably my next reciever.
My Current DVD-Profiler


"I've been Ostrafied!" - Christopher, Sopranos 5/6/07

#18 of 19 OFFLINE   Baldemar Garcia

Baldemar Garcia

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 141 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 1999

Posted June 03 2004 - 06:04 AM

Chris, The sleep function is the 'channel up' button on the remote when in AVR mode.
bgarcia

#19 of 19 OFFLINE   Robert_Gaither

Robert_Gaither

    Screenwriter



  • 1,370 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 12 2002

Posted June 03 2004 - 06:38 AM

Why a company can put this on a budget AVR, but other companies will put in useless DSPs has always been beyond me. I personally bought this AVR for my bedroom just for this reason alone but was shocked about the performance of this budget AVR (smoked a previous Denon 2400 with Technics decoder). I can highly recommend this for a bedroom, second room, or computer room.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users