Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Zenith 27" HDTV $348.88 Your thoughts


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Bill Will

Bill Will

    Screenwriter



  • 1,288 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 2001

Posted May 19 2004 - 04:06 PM

BrandsMart USA in FL has the 27" model C27V22 for $348.88 I know it doesn't have the built in tuner but it does have a RGB Computer Input. Anybody have any thoughts on this model especially for the price. Thanks

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs

    Executive Producer



  • 16,725 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 03 1999

Posted May 20 2004 - 04:37 AM

At that price it's a steal. No, it doesn't have a built-in ATSC tuner, but you can get one later.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   DaveGTP

DaveGTP

    Screenwriter



  • 2,096 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2002

Posted May 20 2004 - 08:10 AM

That is a steal for a 27" HD set. The only other units in that size/price range that I have heard of are the Samsung 27" (quite a bit more money) and the Advent 27" (iffy brand name, iffy reliability reports)

Most HD units don't have a tuner at this point. Don't worry about it too much.
Matheson- "There are probably some who'll say that by doing this, we are interfering with their culture."

Gideon - "Probably. Screw them."
-Crusade, Visitors from Down the Street

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   bruin

bruin

    Second Unit



  • 264 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2002

Posted May 21 2004 - 07:41 AM

I have this set and bought it for $350 used! It's a great set, clear and sharp. Only has one 1080i/480p input but for the price that's fine.

I use a cheap A/V selector that's supposed to be used for composite video and stereo but I plug in the component cables anyways. As long as you match the colors up you can have 3 HD component inputs for a mere $15. You can find these on ebay. They are either blue or yellow in color.

There's also a VGA input (for High Def 1080i) but you need an adapter to use this. There is also a 480i only component input.

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Frank@N

Frank@N

    Screenwriter



  • 1,718 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 12 2002

Posted May 21 2004 - 10:02 AM

Quote:
There's also a VGA input (for High Def 1080i) but you need an adapter to use this.


I'm interested in the 32" version, but it's probably the same.

What does the VGA 'adapter' amount to?

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   DaveGTP

DaveGTP

    Screenwriter



  • 2,096 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2002

Posted May 21 2004 - 10:03 AM

FYI:

A cheap A/V selector probably doesn't have the bandwidth necessary for transmitting a totally uncorrupted HD signal. There's a reason for component switches, and higer bandwidth in receivers for component switching.
Matheson- "There are probably some who'll say that by doing this, we are interfering with their culture."

Gideon - "Probably. Screw them."
-Crusade, Visitors from Down the Street

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   bruin

bruin

    Second Unit



  • 264 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 29 2002

Posted May 21 2004 - 02:32 PM

Well, to my eyes they look as good as if I connected my HD sources directly to the TV.

Regarding the VGA input, it becomes a 2nd 1080i input if you use a vga adapter.

I don't mean to steal this thread but has anyone tried hooking a pc to an HD via vga input? This is my plan once I get a cable.