What's new

To Sub or Not to Sub - That is the question... (1 Viewer)

Keith E F

Auditioning
First post - and complete noob, so forgive me...

I have up to $3K to spend 5 speakers. I say five because my wife *really* doesn't want a stand alone "black box" in great room and the two in-wall rear centers are already a done deal... actually, she's not that thrilled about towers on either side of the TV...

So, I would really like to get two towers that put out some bass when I am watching movies - my mix will be 50/50.

I am leaning towards Paradigm at this time - but I need to know if I am making a mistake buying speakers that have the bass units built in, ala the Studio 100s or even something like Cambridge SW Newton T500 (yea, I know... I know...)

So sell me one way or the other - I want to do this right the first time, or at least the best I can do w/ my budget.

Thanks in advance
Keith

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
Personally, I'd find a way to keep the subwoofer/bass production away from the tower speakers. Use the towers to handle bass down to 80 or 60Hz, then let the subwoofer take over from there. Expecting some tower speakers to be able to produce bass similiar to that of a subwoofer, is asking quite a bit.

I'd look for ways in which you could conceal a subwoofer in your area so that it's possible to go forward with purchasing one. Also, you could then go with a good set of bookshelf speakers and used on-wall brackets for mounting or some decorative stands to place them on. This should keep your area nice and neat and plase your wife's desire for a neat room, too.

I once lived through what you are facing right now. As a compromise, I used in-wall speakers installed in on-wall MDF cabinets to enhance the sound and make them sound the way speakers are intended to sound. I was able to pait the units to match our walls. I then only ohad one sub which was concealed under the edge of my desk. This worked fine for about 3 years.