What's new

interpret the "tone" of this message..... (1 Viewer)

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
hey guys -

i've been sending out this automated message at work for many months now. in most cases, people usually reply and say "thanks" for helping them out.

but a couple of days ago, i got a hostile reply from a customer. she said my message was rude, inconsiderate, insulting, blah blah blah. she ended up forwarding it to some guy who also said it was harsh, blah blah blah.

anyway, i cc'd my supervisor who basically agreed that my message was fine and i didn't need to worry about anything.

anyway, i'm just curious as to what you all think of the "tone" of my message. except for the deleted url (for security reasons) and the name of the application, the message is verbatim.

thx!

ted

Leila Dougan

Screenwriter
It sounds fine to me. It give the impression that this isn't the first time it's happened (obviously) and that you're maybe annoyed, but I wouldn't call it rude. I think most people realize it's an auto-reply and don't take it personally but there's bound to be a few who don't realize it.

For what it's worth, I've had that problem in the past and used an auto-reply with a very similar message.

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
I think Dave's version is much better. The first seems a little, uhhm, pissed off or maybe annoyed.

DonRoeber

Screenwriter
Yeah, you gotta figure, the only time that a customer is going to see your message is when they're already upset because something isn't working right. So maybe add some dancing bears or something.

Malcolm R

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Malcolm
It's far too liberal in the use of capital letters.

:D

But, yeah, I can see how it could be a little harsh. Playing devil's advocate here, it could be interpreted as such:

Hello -

We received your trouble-ticket, but it has been *INCORRECTLY* submitted you doofus.