Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Should I connect my sub to my new Panamax MAX 4300?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 OFFLINE   John Pine

John Pine

    Supporting Actor



  • 988 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2002

Posted April 23 2004 - 12:34 AM

Just purchased a Panamax MAX 4300 line conditioner/surge suppressor. I would like to keep everything plugged into the 4300, including my sub. I understand that's what it's designed for. But, I'm just curious about the power consumption issues. I know the 4300 is rated at 15A (1800W). The "Panamax Bubble of Protection" is of secondary concern as I have an additional homeowners rider just for my computer and audio setup. Performance is the paramount concern! I have an old TrippLite surge protector I can use just for my sub and plug it into another outlet (different breaker). Will the cleaner power from the 4300 benefit my sub in any way? Or should I just plug my sub into a different outlet off a different breaker?

h/k AVR-525……..…...1024W (max)
Velodyne CHT-12…...…400W (max)….170W RMS
Denon 2900…….....………27W
Sony VCR....................19W
Toshiba 35”…..…....……125W
dual PC case fans p/s….25W
"War Eagle!"

#2 of 12 OFFLINE   Philip>L

Philip>L

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 119 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 2003

Posted April 23 2004 - 12:44 AM

Try it both ways and choose which one you like better.
"Lots of things work in practice for which the laboratory has never found proof." -- Martin H. Fischer

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   John Pine

John Pine

    Supporting Actor



  • 988 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2002

Posted April 23 2004 - 02:21 AM

I will be doing that this weekend but I was just wondering if the sub would benefit at all from being on a different outlet and breaker than my 525.
"War Eagle!"

#4 of 12 OFFLINE   John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer



  • 11,550 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 23 2004 - 06:11 AM

I didn't notice any difference between the 4300 and the outlet, however when I moved it to a non-current limited outlet on my 5100, I noticed what seemed like an improvement in tightness. If you cannot tell a difference both ways, I'd leave it on the 4300, otherwise pick up one of their SUB-2s for $30.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#5 of 12 OFFLINE   Ken Smith

Ken Smith

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 101 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2001

Posted April 23 2004 - 06:46 AM

I agree with John. Get one of their Sub-2's. You will need extra cable though. You'll need LFE cable coming from rec. to sub-2's line in connector and then another piece of LFE cable from the Sub-2's out connector to the LFE on the subwoofer.
When my old #5300 took a hit they had a special upgrade going on. I got the #5100 for $99.95 and they sold me Sub-2 for $25.00

#6 of 12 OFFLINE   Matt_Smi

Matt_Smi

    Second Unit



  • 327 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 11 2004

Posted April 23 2004 - 07:44 AM

Unrelated but how do you like your Velodyne CHT-12 Sub?

#7 of 12 OFFLINE   John Pine

John Pine

    Supporting Actor



  • 988 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2002

Posted April 24 2004 - 07:36 AM

Ken & John: Good info guys! I didn't know about the Sub-2's. I'll check into it. THX

Matt:
I've had it for about a year and I still like it a lot! I didn't have the dough for an SVS at the time. If size is not an issue, it's tough to beat this sub!
"War Eagle!"

#8 of 12 OFFLINE   John Pine

John Pine

    Supporting Actor



  • 988 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2002

Posted April 26 2004 - 04:32 AM

Ken & John: I checked out the Panamax "Max 2" on their website. The cost of the unit plus another Better Cables "Silver Serpent" set might make that option cost prohibitive. Looks like a solid product though. Right now I have the sub plugged into the 4300 via a Panamax 10' ext cord. I was unable to tell a difference between the 4300 and another outlet. I guess my sub is still covered with the power line being connected to the 4300. But, there is no protection on the LFE lines connecting them.
"War Eagle!"

#9 of 12 OFFLINE   John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer



  • 11,550 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 26 2004 - 04:47 AM

The sub would not be covered unless you are using one of their extension cords, AFAIK.

Check www.powersystemsdirect.com for the Sub2, that's where I got mine, as well as my 4300 and 5100. If your receiver is plugged into the 4300, I don't think you need to loop the interconnect to the sub2, since both are already protected.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#10 of 12 OFFLINE   John Pine

John Pine

    Supporting Actor



  • 988 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2002

Posted April 26 2004 - 05:40 AM

John: Yes, my h/k 525 is connected to the 4300 and I ordered a 10' Panamax extension which is connected directly to my sub. So, I think my "Bubble of Protection" is acceptable according to Panamax.
"War Eagle!"

#11 of 12 OFFLINE   Ken Smith

Ken Smith

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 101 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2001

Posted April 26 2004 - 07:09 AM

John, I doubt if you need a Better Cables "Silver Serpent" for sub cable. I was using Monster Cables sub cable and decided to make my own with Belden 1694A cable and Canare RCA connectors. Sounds alot better than Monster's and cheaper too. Any good RG-6 should work though.
John Garcia is correct in stating that you don't need this loop if you're connected to the 4300. It's only needed if you plug into the Sub-2. Panamax told me it was for line protection.
Ken

#12 of 12 OFFLINE   John Pine

John Pine

    Supporting Actor



  • 988 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 27 2002

Posted April 26 2004 - 11:18 PM

Ken: For a sub application you may be right. But, I was so impressed with my Silver Serpent 5.1 interconnects for my SACD/DVD-A setup. I immediately could tell a difference from my old Monster Cable MK300's. I listen to a lot of Jazz & Blues. The vocals were more dynamic & life-like and the bottom was slightly less bloated. Shortly there after I bought the Silver Serpent dual-plug sub kit.
"War Eagle!"