Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Sony DVP-S7000


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   TravisEtherton

TravisEtherton

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 61 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2003

Posted April 18 2004 - 04:49 PM

I am thinking about getting a Sony DVP-S7000. My reciever decodes DTS but it isn't listed on the DVD players features. Can it do it...?

Thanks for any help....

This is such a noob question...:b ...
"The object of War is not to Die for your Country but to make the other bastard Die for his." General George S. Patton

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   DanFe

DanFe

    Second Unit



  • 421 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2003

Posted April 18 2004 - 11:52 PM

It is a very old, 1st edition player. It cannot encode dts. There are more recent and better players out. The one thing the 7000 could do was play all region discs, I believe.

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   Ken Smith

Ken Smith

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 101 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2001

Posted April 19 2004 - 06:45 AM

This 1st generation player won't do DTS or Progressive scan. I bought mine in '97 when it came out with msrp of $1000. Great player for interlaced only and no Chroma Bug.

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   TravisEtherton

TravisEtherton

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 61 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2003

Posted April 19 2004 - 12:01 PM

So even though the Reciever has DTS it can't play a DTS DVD....

ThanksPosted Image
"The object of War is not to Die for your Country but to make the other bastard Die for his." General George S. Patton

#5 of 9 OFFLINE   David Norman

David Norman

    Screenwriter



  • 2,034 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2001
  • LocationCharlotte, NC

Posted April 19 2004 - 12:28 PM

Only some of the earliest 7000's can play all region discs and disable Macrovision. There were slide switches inside that could disable the MV and Region locks. Check the manufacture date on the back -- March and April 1997 units all have the switches and some of the May 1997 units. There may be a firmware mod that can be made that may bypass the region on some of the later models, but I doubt the MV. This sounds like I may be treading a bit on the Community Standards, but hopefully the link will get left if nothing else.

As far as I know, it can't be made DTS capable without major surgery if at all. The US version can only play NTSC discs. It doesn'tconvert PAL to NTSC or output PAL to PAL.
It doesn't play DVD+/-R or +/-RW. It can't do Progressive scan. I think there is a way to mod it to do PAL via minor surgery at home, but I've never anyone to do it.

It is a tank, it has one of the better audio sections ever for CD and DVD, it will play many discs that some players will not touch (scratched or dirty), it has a very short layer switch -- sometimes a less than one second delay, sometimes unnoticeable switch, it has an excellent video display though not as sharp as some of the newer players, but it is a very smooth picture with very little MPEG artifacts and noise. This was discussed a lot early on with some folks preferring the Sony smooth and some folks like the super sharp Toshiba style output.

I had one of the original units paying almost MRSP and it has been the main player for 7 years and it hasn't blinked. Easily one of the best $900+ I've ever spent on HT.

Best S7000 information on the web:
Sony DVD-S7000 Everything you ever wanted to know, but ....

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   Grant B

Grant B

    Producer



  • 3,213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 29 2000

Posted April 19 2004 - 05:49 PM

Quote:
It doesn't play DVD+/-R or +/-RW.

Mine does DVD-R ....also most VCDs.

From what I read and found out about mine; since it was the 1st Sony DVD; they evolved quite a bit. Early ones are all regions. There is a way to bring up the service menu and show what SW version is installed. Thats how you can tell. It also can do a self test and calibration via the menu.... pretty cool (so that statement gives my engineering status away).
But go with what David said since they tend to vary.
Tanks are cool except when traveling and then they are just heavy.
"Whatever it is, I'm against it!" G. Marx

Sony TAE/TAP/TAN(2)9000ES;DVP-CX860 DVP-CX777ES
Sony CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355 CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355
Sony S-TS 700ES XPR32450Pioneer Elite CLD 79 KEFs (5) Q75s & 20B Subwoofer

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   Len Cheong

Len Cheong

    Second Unit



  • 381 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 18 2000

Posted April 20 2004 - 05:53 AM

Gary,

What brand DVD-Rs do you use that plays on the S7000?
len cheong

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   David Norman

David Norman

    Screenwriter



  • 2,034 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2001
  • LocationCharlotte, NC

Posted April 20 2004 - 12:56 PM

Interesting on the DVD-R because mine is 0-4 on discs recorded from several different sources. I wasn't aware that any of the machines are All Region out of the box though the early units with the internal switches were extremely easy to make that way. The FAQ has a huge amount of details including a description of how to access the service menu and the firmware versions.

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   Grant B

Grant B

    Producer



  • 3,213 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 29 2000

Posted April 20 2004 - 03:02 PM

I have been using an older Pioneer recorder @1x with EZ creator 6. The discs are Optodisc DVD-Rs.
Not sure why but they do!
"Whatever it is, I'm against it!" G. Marx

Sony TAE/TAP/TAN(2)9000ES;DVP-CX860 DVP-CX777ES
Sony CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355 CDP-CX270 CDP-CX355
Sony S-TS 700ES XPR32450Pioneer Elite CLD 79 KEFs (5) Q75s & 20B Subwoofer