-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Maximum component video cable length?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 Todd^B

Todd^B

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 52 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2004

Posted March 14 2004 - 04:54 AM

I am building my basement and would like to run a component video cable thru the ceiling to where our future projector will be.

I have found a 25' and a 100' component cable on the internet.

Will the video degrade after a certain length? I think 25' should be enough to go up the wall and diagonally across the ceiling.

Would adding wall plates for a better look and connecting the cables thru the wall plates degrade the video at all?

I may also run stereo RCA cables w/yellow video and an S-video cable. Do you see any issues with the either.

Thanks.

#2 of 8 Scott L

Scott L

    Producer

  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted March 14 2004 - 05:48 AM

Do you know what projector it is? Many more are starting to come with DVI inputs for a bit perfect digital signal, and the current players with DVI outs are cheap.

If not then 25' sounds fine. The VGA cable to my LCD screen is about 20' and I don't notice any difference when I hooked it up with the stock 6' or so cable.

#3 of 8 Todd^B

Todd^B

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 52 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2004

Posted March 14 2004 - 11:55 AM

DVI is a consideration.

I would like to have inputs into the projector from a satellite receiver, s-vhs maybe.

Those would be s-video though.

Not sure which projector yet. Still doing homework on those.

#4 of 8 Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh

    Producer

  • 5,183 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 1999

Posted March 14 2004 - 11:58 AM

The custom cable sites sell coax by Canare and Belden that are rolled out to 100 ft, tested and the results are published - you should be fine.

Dont under any circumstances put in wall-plates and break the connections. While this is fine for audio, it is harmful for video, and even worse for progressive/HD video (Think of a speed bump at 5 mph and 50 mph)

You can buy blank wall-plates and cut your own holes and a slit to thread the cables through if you want.

The custom cable sites can sell you 2 long runs of cable:

- Component cable
- another component cable, but made with mini-coax so that 2 of the wires terminate in SVideo and the third in a RCA plug for composite. This will give you all possible combinations you might need.

#5 of 8 Gabriel_Lam

Gabriel_Lam

    Screenwriter

  • 1,402 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 07 2002

Posted March 14 2004 - 01:34 PM

Have you considered running conduit through your ceiling so that you can easily pull more cable through later? I forgot to do this the first time and had to rip my ceiling open again. Posted Image

Put 3" conduit if at all possible.
Home Theater Forum Sponsor

#6 of 8 Todd^B

Todd^B

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 52 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 18 2004

Posted March 15 2004 - 03:02 AM

Thanks for the info.

I will check those two cable manufacturers.

I might be able to run conduit. That would be a good idea if it will fit in my 2x4 wall. I do have a little space behind the wall where the insulation is.

I am also considering making "pillars" in the corner of our HT room. Just to give it a theater feel. I could use these to run conduit. Since my receiver and temporarily our Sony Vega will be in the corner, this might work out well.

Thanks for the ideas.

#7 of 8 Scott L

Scott L

    Producer

  • 4,466 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 29 2000

Posted March 15 2004 - 05:05 PM

Quote:
Since my receiver and temporarily our Sony Vega will be in the corner
Before you get corrected by some electronics snob in real life Posted Image it's spelled Wega, pronounced "Vega."

www.sony.com/wega

#8 of 8 Ali K

Ali K

    Auditioning

  • 10 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2004

Posted March 15 2004 - 05:38 PM

You cab find DVI- cables in 20' and 40' lengths from Monster, the MSRP is quite high but if you do a froogle search, you can find substantial savings!!!

I have just purchased a 40' DVI-D for my Sony HS20 and am also worried about signal degradation. However; digital signal shouls be less compromised.