Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

My TV wont stop hissing at me!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 of 15 OFFLINE   Matt Pep

Matt Pep

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2004

Posted March 03 2004 - 09:39 AM

I don't know which forum to post this in so I'll put it here.

I just got a new Panasonic 53" Widescreen TV from Best Buy. I hook up everything that I used to have on my 27 incher. My cable box, dvd player and most importantly my beloved Tivo, which I've named Barnabus (not that his name matters).

My problem is that I have a horrible hissing sound coming out of my TV. It's completely unbearable. Some people can hear it easily and others have to really try to hear it. Those that can hear it can't stand it. It's almost the kind of hissing that you can FEEL more than you can hear. It's so bad that sometimes it upsets my stomach if I watch TV too long.

---------------------------
Here is my setup:

Wall to splitter.

Splitter output 1 to cable modem.

Splitter output 2 to TV input 1.

TV split out to cable box output.
cable box out to Tivo input via composite cables

Tivo input to TV input 2
Tivo output to TV video 1 input via s-video
--------------------------------

This setup allows me to use PIP. One picture is the TV 1 input (no tivo) and the other picture is the video 1 input (tivo enabled). I love this because now I can tivo something and watch TV at the same time.

So...when I watch the regular TV I get the hissing but its not really that bad. But when I switch to the Tivo input, its very bad.

Now, its a lot worse overall on some channels than others. ESPN is horrible, ESPN 2 is a little better, NBC is almost fine. Some channels are good, some stink.

I even bought a cable TV amplifier and it didnt help at all.

Some notes:

When I mute the TV, hissing gone

When I go into Tivo menus, hissing gone

When I pause the Tivo, hissing gone

Xbox on component input 1 works fine, no hissing.

DVD player on componenet input 2 works fine, no hissing.



Any help/advice/dramamine would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Q

#2 of 15 OFFLINE   Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Producer



  • 5,910 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 1999

Posted March 03 2004 - 10:20 AM

Matt,

Your signal flow doesn’t make sense:

Quote:
Wall to splitter.
Splitter output 2 to TV input 1.
Your TV has more than one antenna input? Can’t say as I’ve often seen that.

Quote:
TV split out to cable box output.
Even more amazing, your TV has an RF output. Can’t say that I’ve ever seen that. And, you’re sending an “output” from the TV to an “output” on the cable box? How do you expect this to work?

Quote:
cable box out to Tivo input via composite cables
Now you’re telling us your cable box has two RF outputs - ?

Quote:
Tivo input to TV input 2
Now you’re sending one input to another. Again, how to you expect this to work?

It all may be academic anyway. Since it’s a brand-new TV, and very large at that, I expect you have an in-house service agreement? Just have them come out and look at it. If they try to tell you “There’s nothing wrong with it,” or “There’s nothing we can do,” then you fortunately have the option to return it and get something else.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

My Equipment List
“A nice mid-fi system,” according to an audiophile acquaintance.

My Tech / DIY Articles and Reviews

#3 of 15 OFFLINE   Matt Pep

Matt Pep

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2004

Posted March 03 2004 - 01:16 PM

Wayne,

Yes my TV has 2 inputs AND a split output. What it does, from my understanding, is take the signal from the wall to the TV. Then the "split out" basically splits the signal from the tv to your next input, which is my cable box, which goes to my tivo and then back to my TV through antenna 2.

Heck, at least thats what the manual said to do. Didn't make much sense to me either.

I'm going to double, er triple, er quadruple check everything again tonight.

#4 of 15 OFFLINE   Abe Rodrigue

Abe Rodrigue

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 57 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2004

Posted March 03 2004 - 01:20 PM

Matt, is the hiss all of the time, or just on the "S"'s?
I have the same problem, but just on the "S"'s. If anyone has an answer please help us.

Thank you.
sparky

#5 of 15 OFFLINE   Matt Pep

Matt Pep

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2004

Posted March 03 2004 - 05:37 PM

its always. Its not that kind of hiss. This is a piercing hiss that you can really FEEL in your ears as much as you can hear it.

#6 of 15 OFFLINE   Dave Schofield

Dave Schofield

    Second Unit



  • 403 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 1999

Posted March 03 2004 - 05:40 PM

Just a thought, but the Cable amp might be making the problem worse, not better. Dunno if you've tried it without the amp...

You've probably tried this, but you might want to break the system down and add in things individually and see where the problem "starts". You'll find your culprit pretty quickly this way.

#7 of 15 OFFLINE   Kevin*H

Kevin*H

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 60 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 2004

Posted March 03 2004 - 11:54 PM

Why not send the signal fom the wall to a Two-way splitter
(from radio shack) which will split the signal to your TV and Cable box and from the CB to your TIVO

#8 of 15 OFFLINE   Matt Pep

Matt Pep

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2004

Posted March 04 2004 - 04:01 AM

I've tried it without the amp, its the same.

I've broken it down into every possible combination, and the hissing is still there. It's not as bad when it goes directly from the TV to the wall, but its still there. Going through the cable box and Tivo just makes it worse.

Quote:
Why not send the signal fom the wall to a Two-way splitter


It already is going to a splitter.

#9 of 15 OFFLINE   Nathan Stohler

Nathan Stohler

    Second Unit



  • 329 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2004

Posted March 04 2004 - 06:12 AM

Quote:
It already is going to a splitter.


No, Kevin is asking why you are running a loop through your TV. Instead of:

wall -> splitter -> TV -> Cable box -> TiVo -> TV

why not:

wall -> splitter -> Cable box -> TiVo -> TV

Maybe the way you're looping the connection to the TV is causing a problem.

#10 of 15 OFFLINE   Matt Pep

Matt Pep

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2004

Posted March 04 2004 - 06:26 AM

oh sorry. I've tried it both ways, actually. No difference.

#11 of 15 OFFLINE   Matt Pep

Matt Pep

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2004

Posted March 04 2004 - 10:37 AM

ok well...i lowered my cable box volume and it helps a lot.

BUT I have to lower it to about 25%. Now my volume is too damn low, even on full blast.

Something is wrong.

#12 of 15 OFFLINE   John.W

John.W

    Agent



  • 30 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 05 2001

Posted March 05 2004 - 05:17 AM

What I had to do in my bedroom was to set the cable box's audio out to Fixed ( optimum ) then i just go volume up and down on the tv. No more hiss

#13 of 15 OFFLINE   Doug MacGregor

Doug MacGregor

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 84 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2002

Posted March 05 2004 - 06:40 AM

Matt, I would suggest doing what Wayne said.
Connect your components one at a time and determine if there is any hiss from that component.
The hardest thing is to try and determine which component is causing the problem if there are 3 or 4 of them.
Believe me, it will be time well spent.

#14 of 15 OFFLINE   Abe Rodrigue

Abe Rodrigue

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 57 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 2004

Posted March 05 2004 - 09:18 AM

thanks guys, I checked the volume on my cable box, and low and behold it was cranked!! Thanks again, I would have never checked it otherwise.
sparky

#15 of 15 OFFLINE   Matt Pep

Matt Pep

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 03 2004

Posted March 05 2004 - 11:07 AM

It was my cable box. I got digital cable today and its fine, thanks to the new box. Some channels are still a little loud but I'll fix that some other time.

Thanks guys.


Back to Beginners, General Questions & HTiB (Home Theater in a Box)



Forum Nav Content I Follow