What's new

Response from District Manager of BlockBuster on OAR! (1 Viewer)

Peter Kim

Screenwriter
(copy/paste email, no edit, with exception to edit out of name):
"Mr. Kim:
My name is xxxxxx xxxxx. I am a District Manager for Blockbuster Video in the Twin Cities area. I am writing today in reply to your complaint about our company carrying only the full screen version of "The Mummy Returns" for rent, versus the same film in a wide screen format. I attempted to contact you via phone this morning, but was unable to do so.
First, let me assure you that our company has no designs on attacking your or anyone else's intelligence, as stated in your complaint. We certainly don't engage in practices that are intended to "pull the wool over the eyes of the consumer". Many people do indeed know about the difference between wide screen and full screen formatting, and we understand that. Full screen
VHS tapes, for example, are formatted for a 4x3 television screen and often carry the disclaimer that the film has been modified to fit your TV. Wide screen versions on VHS are formatted for a larger 16x9 screen.
Second, let me explain why the issue of wide screen format versus full screen format is less of a concern on DVD. As you no doubt know, most DVD players have a set up function that allows you to change your settings to adjust your DVD rental for either wide screen or full screen. That simple set up change will in turn allow you to watch your DVD in whichever format you choose. Obviously, this may not be available on every single type of DVD player. However, I have yet to personally come across a player on which that option is not present. It is my sincere hope that this information
will help ease your concerns regarding the issue. If I can be of help in any other way, please feel free to reply to this message or contact me at a later date with future concerns.
Best-"