-

Photo
- - - - -

What ties to wear with black shirts?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
23 replies to this topic

#1 of 24 OFFLINE   Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper

Lead Actor

• 6,504 posts

Posted January 31 2004 - 05:17 PM

I love black dress shirts. Black or Dark Grey are my favorite, I hate white dress shirts.

For a while I have been wearing a dress shirt informally, not buttoned all the way, no tie, with a t-shirt underneath slightly exposed.

Recently I've been getting the bug to be a bit more "dressy" for class, being it's my last semester and all. I wanted to start wearing ties with my dark shirts, but I have no idea what to wear.

In the rare cases I have had to dressup, I ahve worn a black tie on the black shirt, but it looks a little too mafia or mortuary, so I was wondering what else works?

White would only work if I'm a guitarist in a new-wave band, and the only other thing I've seen that would work is shiny grey (silver) or shiny gold.

Any other thoughts?
Need an introduction to home theater? Check out our FAQ and Primer!!

#2 of 24 OFFLINE   Mark Shannon

Mark Shannon

Screenwriter

• 1,991 posts

Posted January 31 2004 - 05:23 PM

I would suggest either a solid navy blue, or a solid dark red. If you're feeling a bit more outgoing, a brighter red.

#3 of 24 OFFLINE   Kami

Kami

Screenwriter

• 1,496 posts

Posted January 31 2004 - 05:53 PM

I always wear a dark red tie with my black shirt (hate white shirts too).

#4 of 24 OFFLINE   Glenn Overholt

Glenn Overholt

Producer

• 4,207 posts

Posted January 31 2004 - 06:13 PM

So, you wear the black tie and talk Italian all day - what's the problem? Posted Image