What's new

Should I buy the Sanyo Z2 sight unseen?? Please give advice. (1 Viewer)

Curt Luther

Stunt Coordinator
I was approved for my equity loan to complete my HT and I am finishing up the drywall now. I cannot find anyone in my area (West Michigan) that supplies the Sanyo Z2 or either Panasonic projector. Should I buy the Z2 without previewing some how? Has anyone else done this and wished they hadn't? Also does anyone know if it is available on line or will I have to pre order one? Where is a good place to buy one? Sorry for all the questions but I want to make sure I have one once my room is completed. Thank you for the help.

Curt

Curt, I feel your frustration. I've been researching for two months to buy a projector for my HT. The trouble is getting to actually see them in action - preferably all lined up in a row with a single video feed, checking each machine for your own personal best view.

Especially in the sub-$2000 range, I found that there is always one defecient specification (lumens, color wheel speed, contrast, etc., etc., etc.). In my area I couldn't get any kind of demo.

So, while trolling through Sam's Club one day I found a Philips 60", 4:3, HD-monitor for under $1500 and I bought it. It kills me to not have an actual projector but I went with the safest approach to know exactly what I'm getting.

I planning a later phase of my HT to include front projection with a retractible screen for movie watching.

Good luck in your search.

Ian-Fl

Second Unit
There are still issues with the Sanyo and Panasonic. Contrast levels on the Sanyo LCD are not as good as the Panasonic DLP projector. I read these questions all the time about removing dust blobs.
http://www.hubc.org.sg/MyWeb/Z1_dustblob_removal.asp
DLP projectors still have rainbows.