Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Connecting plate amp to tempest


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 OFFLINE   marc_manny

marc_manny

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 25 2003

Posted January 16 2004 - 04:00 AM

First time caller, long time listener. For starters I will tell you what I think is correct, and if I'm wrong let me know. Tempest runs at 8ohms unless you connect both voice coils, and then it runs at 4ohms. To connect the voice coils you just solder a piece of wire between the 2. + to + and - to -. My question is how do you then connect the amp to the voice coils? Do you just connect it to one set of the coils and all is fine? or do you solder the amp wire to the middle of the wire you add? How come when people document there building a sub or speakers they only cover the making of the box and not the wiring of it? I have only found a few sites that show some wiring. It may seem fundamental to some but it is the part I am most worried about. If I mess up the enclosure I can always build another one, but I do not want to fry any parts. Thanks, Marc

#2 of 10 OFFLINE   Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

    Studio Mogul



  • 38,065 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1999

Posted January 16 2004 - 04:42 AM

The Tempest voice coil connectors has 2 sets of spades on each terminal, so, simply connect one set of spade connectors from the first voice coil to the other set of spade connectors on the second voice coil (plus to plus, minus to minus). Then connect the cable from the amp to the spare spade connectors on the first voice coil terminals only to achieve a 4 ohm load.

Or you can do what I did, which is use a Dual-Input Terminal cup and simply did the bridging/paralleling at the terminal cup with the metal bridgej strips, and just ran cables from the cup to each set of voice coil terminals (which gave me connection flexibility without having to rewire the driver terminal connections inside the sub):

http://www.patcave.c...b2/117-3919.jpg

http://www.patcave.c...b2/118-3921.jpg

http://www.patcave.c...b2/119-4363.jpg

http://www.patcave.c...b2/120-4364.jpg

And here's my construction page of one of my Sunosubs:

http://www.io.com/~p...n/sunosub2.html
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#3 of 10 OFFLINE   marc_manny

marc_manny

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 55 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 25 2003

Posted January 16 2004 - 05:01 AM

Thanks Patrick, that's what I thought, but I wanted to make sure before I do anything stupid. Since I am going with a plate amp I guess I should just connect the voice coils to each other and then connect the amp to one set of the coils. Does it matter which set of spades I use? BTW nice documentation. I did surf through your site before, but because there were no thumbs I was lazy and did not read all the captions. Thanks, again. Marc

#4 of 10 OFFLINE   Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

    Studio Mogul



  • 38,065 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1999

Posted January 16 2004 - 05:54 AM

No, it doesn't matter which set of spades. I've have been thinking about adding thumbnails, but it would make the page load slower, but maybe if I get bored I'll do it.
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#5 of 10 OFFLINE   Ronnie Ferrell

Ronnie Ferrell

    Second Unit



  • 355 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 16 2002

Posted January 16 2004 - 07:49 AM

Marc,

I had the same question as you when I built my Tempest so I took pictures to show others.

Posted Image
Homemade jumper cables

Posted Image
Jumper cables installed. Later I tucked a little polyfil under the wires the keep them from rattling against the back of the driver.

Posted Image
The extra set of spades to connect the amp.


Take care,

rfIf you want to be board to tears look here:
[c]
Meet our new boy, Mousse![/c]

#6 of 10 OFFLINE   Andrew S-

Andrew S-

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 67 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 06 2003

Posted January 16 2004 - 09:21 AM

Just make sure you are wiring them in parallel and not series. Series will give you a 16ohm load and will reduce your power severly.

I personally like JL Audio's tutorial for wiring under their tutorial section.

#7 of 10 OFFLINE   Gerry S

Gerry S

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 122 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 15 2002

Posted January 16 2004 - 03:36 PM

Ronnie: What type of cable did you use to build those jumper cables? Is that just speaker wire? -Gerry

#8 of 10 OFFLINE   Brian Pokosh

Brian Pokosh

    Agent



  • 32 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 2003

Posted January 17 2004 - 08:19 AM

deleted

#9 of 10 OFFLINE   Bob K

Bob K

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 94 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 29 2003

Posted January 17 2004 - 10:59 PM

Marc,

The Adire site has a page that lays out how to wire in parallel very clearly. I used it when I wired up my Tempest. If you have a multimeter, you can double check your work by measuring resistance across the terminals -- you should get 4 Ohms (or very close, 3.9). The Adire page I'm referring to is http://www.adireaudi.../dvc_wiring.htm

Good luck!

Adire Tempest Construction Pix: http://www.audiocirc....view_album.php

#10 of 10 OFFLINE   Ronnie Ferrell

Ronnie Ferrell

    Second Unit



  • 355 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 16 2002

Posted January 19 2004 - 03:11 AM

Yep! It's just cheap Home Depot 14-ga. speaker wire and "crimp style" spade connectors. rf
[c]
Meet our new boy, Mousse![/c]




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users