Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Bridging head unit amp?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Joseph_W

Joseph_W

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 111 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 23 2001

Posted January 15 2004 - 11:32 PM

I'm replacing my head unit in my car because the current one is broken. I only have two speakers but all the head units are 4 channels (20W X 4). I have looked into specs and owners manuals with no luck. Does anyone know of a HU brand that allows amp bridging (ie 40W X 2). Thanks, Joe

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   brentl

brentl

    Screenwriter



  • 2,921 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 1999

Posted January 16 2004 - 01:49 AM

Unless stated in your manual DON'T try it. Brent

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Joseph_W

Joseph_W

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 111 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 23 2001

Posted January 16 2004 - 01:49 PM

Thanks Brent, I agree 100%! I was just wondering if anyone had a HU they knew was bridgable since I am in the market for a new unit. Joe

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Anthony_C

Anthony_C

    Agent



  • 29 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 02 2004

Posted January 16 2004 - 03:06 PM

I have never seen a HU with bridging capabilities. If you are wanting more power, you would be better off getting an external amp. An external amp is going to give you a lot better sound and clarity.
Some old Sony speakers all around at the moment
Onkyo TXSR601 (receiver)
Toshiba 46" RPTV

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Joseph_W

Joseph_W

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 111 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 23 2001

Posted January 17 2004 - 12:51 AM

Thanks Anthony, I have come to that conclusion, too. I read on a post, probably on a car forum, that someone bridged their amp and I assumed they meant the amp in the HU. I can' find the post but I bet they were talking about a separate amp as you suggested. I'll see how satisfied I am with just the HU. Thanks again! Joe

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   brentl

brentl

    Screenwriter



  • 2,921 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 1999

Posted January 17 2004 - 01:50 AM

YEP, I had(still have somewhere) an old Sony XR7180 cassette stereo that was something like 4 by 8 or 2 by 15. Just had to flipa switch! Brent

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Mark gas

Mark gas

    Second Unit



  • 322 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 23 2002

Posted January 18 2004 - 09:38 PM

pioneer had some hu's you could bridge but I would just get a small amp.

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   Denton

Denton

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 82 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 01 2001

Posted January 22 2004 - 02:48 AM

One possibility you might want to consider: biamping. I have some MB Quart coax's that have a biamp setting on their crossovers. Use one pair of channels on the tweets and one set on the midbasses. (Some current head units have RCA sub-outs that could be used for a sub and amp while using your head unit power on your main speakers.)
"Watching television is like taking black spray paint to your third eye." Bill Hicks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users