Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Car just hit 105,000 miles. What are the top five maintenance activities should do?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 of 15 Drew Bethel

Drew Bethel

Screenwriter

• 1,210 posts

Posted January 13 2004 - 03:42 AM

I have a '97 Pontiac Sunfire GT - stick shift (5 speed). Had the dex-cool flushed out of the radiator 18 months ago and have just been been doing regular oil changes and tire rotations only.

I'm looking for the top five things I must consider doing in the next few months to keep my baby purring like a kitten. I'm thinking about changing the spark plugs and spark plug wires...gas filter...but hey, I'm no mechanic.
"The man who views the world at 50 the same as he did at 20 has wasted 30 years of his life." Muhammed Ali, (Cassius Clay)

#2 of 15 Johnny Mo

Johnny Mo

Agent

• 43 posts

Posted January 13 2004 - 03:52 AM

Timing belt/chain
Main Seal/Rear Seal
Clutch, pilot bearing
Fuel Filter(s)
Check Suspension components

#3 of 15 Andrej Dolenc

Andrej Dolenc

Stunt Coordinator

• 249 posts

Posted January 13 2004 - 04:56 AM

If you've never changed your trasmission fluid, that would be high up on the list as well.

#4 of 15 brentl

brentl

Screenwriter

• 2,918 posts

Posted January 13 2004 - 06:14 AM

Get your ball joints checked for play.

#5 of 15 Bill Williams

Bill Williams

Screenwriter

• 1,699 posts

Posted January 13 2004 - 07:02 AM