-

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Tax Software (TT vs. TC)

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
36 replies to this topic

#1 of 37 Dan M~

Dan M~

Second Unit

• 353 posts

Posted January 06 2004 - 11:07 PM

I've been using Turbo Tax for about 6 years. Last year Turbo Tax loaded alot of junk, spyware on my machine, so this year I may consider Tax Cut.

My ?'s,

Has Turbo Tax cleaned up their act this year??

Does Tax Cut import previous years data from Turbo Tax?

What do you recommend?

Thanks for the guidance.
-Dan M~

#2 of 37 Jim Tressler

Jim Tressler

Stunt Coordinator

• 210 posts

Posted January 06 2004 - 11:40 PM

Dan,

I am in the same boat as you.. From what I have seen - TT got rid of the crap (including that damn activation), but they still try to get you yo buy all kinds of their products while going through your return. I went to TC website and they state that they can import TT data - A friend of mine that does taxes on the side says last years version of TC imported TT data with no problems - so I would imagine this years is ok as well. Also for what it is worth he recomends TC over TT. Hope that helps.

jim

#3 of 37 Mike Voigt

Mike Voigt

Supporting Actor

• 806 posts

Posted January 06 2004 - 11:46 PM

For those reasons - spyware, etc. - I ended up using TaxCut last year, despite being a long-time (10+ years) user of TurboTax.

If TurboTax/Intuit indeed cleaned up their act, then I may reconsider going back to them. But I have to say tha TaxCut was very straightforward to use, just about as easy as TurboTax.

#4 of 37 Brett_H

Brett_H

Second Unit

• 345 posts

Posted January 07 2004 - 04:00 AM

Dan,