Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Total newbie Q...

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Adam.Heckman

Adam.Heckman

Second Unit

• 322 posts

Posted December 17 2003 - 11:39 PM

Alright, I'm actually fairly embarrased to ask this questions, because I don't consider myself a HUGE newbie in the HT area. BUT... what the heck is 'reference level'? I hear people say things like "when I turn it up to reference level...". I have no idea what that's all about, could somebody help??? Thanks in advance!!!

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Bill Kane

Bill Kane

Screenwriter

• 1,373 posts

Posted December 18 2003 - 12:01 AM

Adam, Welcome to the Forum...

Your question's answer and many more can be found in the Beginner's Primer (see the bug atop this Basics Forum). Here's a LINK

Ref. Lvl is a systematic calibration that ensures everyone using it is talking the same language. This is useful when comparing the output or performance of your HT system and, say, mine. It's Dolby Lab's estimate of how loud movie track surround sound should be in theaters, but adapted to home living room, this usually is too loud, as noted below.

bill

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   JamesCB

JamesCB

Second Unit

• 440 posts

Posted December 18 2003 - 12:39 AM

Reference level = (usually)Too loud. Reference level is best left for the theaters and very large rooms. It's nice to know you can attain that level in a normal room though.

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie

Lead Actor

• 6,530 posts

Posted December 18 2003 - 12:55 AM