What's new

Total newbie Q... (1 Viewer)

Adam.Heckman

Second Unit
Alright, I'm actually fairly embarrased to ask this questions, because I don't consider myself a HUGE newbie in the HT area. BUT... what the heck is 'reference level'?
I hear people say things like "when I turn it up to reference level...". I have no idea what that's all about, could somebody help???
Thanks in advance!!!

Bill Kane

Screenwriter
Adam, Welcome to the Forum...

Your question's answer and many more can be found in the Beginner's Primer (see the bug atop this Basics Forum). Here's a LINK

Ref. Lvl is a systematic calibration that ensures everyone using it is talking the same language. This is useful when comparing the output or performance of your HT system and, say, mine. It's Dolby Lab's estimate of how loud movie track surround sound should be in theaters, but adapted to home living room, this usually is too loud, as noted below.

bill

JamesCB

Second Unit
Reference level = (usually)Too loud.

Reference level is best left for the theaters and very large rooms. It's nice to know you can attain that level in a normal room though.

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member