What's new

Suggestions for Improving HT Experience (1 Viewer)

JohnWyn

Auditioning
Hello All,

Any advice you can provide would be very helpfull, I'm new to the whole HT thing and want to improve upon the equipment/setup I already have as well as change the layout/asthetics of my setup.

First, let me describe my possible locations as best I can:

I have two locations that I can use to build my HT, one of which is an unused bedroom that is about 11ft by 13ft. I can expand the length from 13ft to about 18ft by removing the closet doors(and maybe even the closet itself), but I would like to avoid this. The other location is where I currently have my TV setup. It's our living/great room (24ft by 14ft) and my only complaint is the HUGE amount of windows in the room (one entire wall, and two large windows on another wall). Also, this room would have to be 'liveable', meaning it would have to retain some "sitting room" functionality.

If my explainations of the rooms are poor, I can send floorplans/pics if needed.

Second, let me run through the equipment I have available to start with (I'd like to use what I have and upgrade):

TV: Sanyo 35" CRT

Projector: Older Sharp LCD Projector (I don't have specs but it's somewhere around 600 lumens at 800x600) I also don't have a screen yet.

Receiver and Speakers: Kenwood HTIB Setup w/ RCA Powered Sub

DVD Players: Hitachi DVD Player and Kodak VCR/DVD Combo both have S-Video out. The Kodak has some kind of RGB? output (3 RCA Connectors, A Red, Green, and Blue One).

Finally, let me run through what I'd like in a HT:

1) Big Screen (I like front projection setups, but I'd consider a 60" DLP or Rear Projection TV)

2) Good Sound, obviously I'd like to hear my DVD's the way they are supposed to sound.