Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Difference between antenna and satellite connection on surge protector


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Mike Mace

Mike Mace

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2002

Posted November 30 2003 - 01:24 PM

Hi, I was just wondering what the differences between the antenna and satellite connections were for on say a panamax max 1500 surge protector?

I have a panamax 1000 on my system now and whenever I try to hook up the coax cables I lose my digital channels after a few hours/days and it says I am not subscribed any more.

Any ideas?

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Joe Tilley

Joe Tilley

    Supporting Actor



  • 688 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 01 2002

Posted November 30 2003 - 02:15 PM

There should be no difference, to the best of my knowledge. All of the power strips I've ever seen just ground the coax.

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Chu Gai

Chu Gai

    Lead Actor



  • 7,270 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 2001

Posted November 30 2003 - 03:04 PM

try emailing or calling Panamax.

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   MichaelDDD

MichaelDDD

    Supporting Actor



  • 593 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 29 2003

Posted November 30 2003 - 05:45 PM

Your cable box/company uses two-way communication b/t their server and your cable box.

It's apparent that your current surge protector does not support this two-way communication. I'd email Panamax and ask which models do.
Yeah, I base all my HT purchases on the WAF, too. Wallet Acceptance Factor.

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Mike Mace

Mike Mace

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 56 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2002

Posted December 01 2003 - 01:32 AM

Just emailed panamax with the question....anyone else out there know a surge protector with 2 way communication on the coax lines?

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Jack_TN

Jack_TN

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 88 posts
  • Join Date: May 05 2003

Posted December 01 2003 - 12:23 PM

I'd be interested in what Panamax says. The Max8DBS+5 has 2 inputs 'engineered' for cable and 2 'engineered' for satellite, so I would assume there is a difference. I think I read somewhere that satellite systems operate with different voltages from cable.

Jack