-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Has anyone tried the Pro System Selector (component switcher)?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted November 23 2003 - 11:51 AM

Has anyone here tried the Pro System Selector (component switcher)? It is powered, so my initial thought was that it was an active switcher rather than a passive switch. However, I didn't notice that it also acted as an ethernet switch, so perhaps that would account for the power.

If it is passive, this could be a pretty sweet deal since it acts as a component switcher, an optical audio switch, and also consolidates the network cabling.

-Dave
DVD List

#2 of 12 GlenHaag

GlenHaag

    Supporting Actor

  • 973 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 19 2002

Posted November 24 2003 - 09:37 AM

Yep. I've had mine for a few months now.

I really like the device. The only thing that it lacks is a remote control, other than that I've been very happy with the component and digital audio switching, as well as the ethernet switching.

I really needed something like this seeing as how I had 5 component devices with my Sat rec, my DVD player, my Xbox, my Gamecube and my PS2.

It's done it's job quite nicely.

Glen

#3 of 12 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted November 24 2003 - 12:03 PM

Glen, have you passed a 720p or 1080i input through it? Also, am I correct in thinking that the ethernet switch is 10/100?

I'm really torn between this and the Audio Authority 1154. The AA has a reputation for great quality, and has 4 optical inputs, but only 4 component inputs is a drag. Having seven would be a comfortable fit.

Thanks,

-Dave
DVD List

#4 of 12 GlenHaag

GlenHaag

    Supporting Actor

  • 973 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 19 2002

Posted November 25 2003 - 02:35 AM

Yep, my HDTV DirecTV reciever was passing a 1080i signal through it, and my Xbox was passing a 720P signal through it.

I didn't have any issues with either of them.

Glen

#5 of 12 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted November 25 2003 - 02:58 PM

Cool, thanks Glen! I think I'll pick one up this week.

-Dave
DVD List

#6 of 12 JoshuaL

JoshuaL

    Extra

  • 17 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2003

Posted December 08 2003 - 04:20 AM

Does anyone know of any pictures of the back of this unit? I haven't been able to find any, and I'd like to before I buy it. Also, does it handle digital coax audio or just optical?

#7 of 12 Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor

  • 9,579 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted December 08 2003 - 04:26 AM

Sweet! Right now I'm an XBox house. But my girlfriend and I just gifted each other a GameCube + games for XMas, and her brother (with whom we share an apt.) is getting a PS2 for XMas. I will definitely be needing this as my DTV only has 2 component inputs and 1 is devoted to the DVD player.

#8 of 12 Sean Moon

Sean Moon

    Screenwriter

  • 2,045 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 25 2001

Posted December 08 2003 - 04:49 AM

It has three optical, three ethernet, seven s video/composite/component switches on the back, and a hidden eigth component input on the front. It does not do digital coax though. Best Buy sells these in stores and there is a pic of the back on the top of the box.

It also comes in black and silver flavors.
http://doctordoom.blogspot.com

We must stand in awe of the infinite capacity of the human mind to reject the introduction of useful knowledge.

#9 of 12 JoshuaL

JoshuaL

    Extra

  • 17 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2003

Posted December 08 2003 - 05:59 AM

Too bad about the lack of coax digital. I wonder if using the composite video input for coax digital audio would work? Anybody see a problem with that? I found the following picture online of the back of the unit, but the forum won't let me post the actual URL (GRRRR!!!). It's:

www dot consoleaccessories dot com/unv004.asp?img=b#largeimg

#10 of 12 Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter

  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted December 08 2003 - 10:38 AM

linkeroo

-Dave
DVD List

#11 of 12 Jarrett_L

Jarrett_L

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2003

Posted December 12 2003 - 08:52 AM

I have one, and think it is awesome Posted Image Just what the doctor ordered for passing my Xbox, DVD, computer, gamecube signals all to my overhead projector!

Only thing lacking, as someone said, is a remote.

Highly recommended.

Jarrett

#12 of 12 Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor

  • 9,579 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted December 12 2003 - 11:02 AM

Thanks for the mini-reviews. The lack of remote isn't a biggie as I gotta get up to power on each system anyway.