Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Hows the 5.1 sound on the SW Spec Ed. LDs? & where to rent a LD player near Seattle?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
20 replies to this topic

#1 of 21 Anthony R

Anthony R

Stunt Coordinator

• 70 posts

Posted September 07 2001 - 03:50 PM

I am fairly new to DD 5.1 sound-- up until recently I was using a Pro-Logic receiver to listen to my DVDs-- when I bought one with 5.1 sound, obviously I was wowed by the difference.

Anyway-- what I was wondering-- can anyone tell me how the DD 5.1 sound is on the Star Wars Spec. Ed. LDs? I really want to hear the Trilogy in DD 5.1 sound, because obviously, it will be awhile before I will get to do so on DVD. I don't have these LDs, but I know where I can rent them (Scarecrow Video in Seattle). Any comments on the 5.1 sound and how it compares to newer DVDs? (the ones I have been most impressed with so far are ID4 and U571)

One problem however is that my LD player doesn't have 5.1 sound output, and I can't find anyplace that has one for rent-- Scarecrow Video rents LD players, but they don't have 5.1 sound. Does anyone know where in Seattle or the surrounding area I can rent a 5.1 LD player? Thanks,

Anthony
"We all gotta get a little crazy sometimes..."

#2 of 21 alan halvorson

alan halvorson

Screenwriter

• 2,021 posts

Posted September 07 2001 - 08:04 PM

The 5.1 one sound is fabulous, as is the 2 channel Dolby Surround. Video isn't anything to snicker at either.